Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Estevan Motor Speedway

Johnson grabs NLRA victory at Estevan

August 17, 2011, 8:18 am
From track and correspondent reports

ESTEVAN, Saskatchewan (Aug. 16) — Polesitter Zach Johnson ended the two-race winning streak of Ricky Weiss on the Northern LateModel Racing Association on Tuesday with a victory at Estevan Motor Speedway, the lone Canadian event on the eight-race Western Tour.

Johnson earned $1,250 for his sixth career NLRA victory while Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., came from his seventh starting spot to finish second. Joel Cryderman of Thunder Bay, Ontario, was third and Weiss, of Winnipega, Manitoba, was fourth.

Bill Mooney of Selkirk, Manitoba, who won the Western Tour opener, rounded out the top five after starting in the sixth row. Outside front-row starter Mike Balcaen of Winnpeg was sixth.

Notes: Johnson's Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Shaw Trucking, Schuett Construction and Midwest Grain Systems. ... Johnson scored his first career victory outside the United States. ... Canadian IMCA modified regular Kody Scholpp of Lampman, Saskatchewan, made his first-ever Late Model start in a Ricky Weiss backup car, finishing 17th. ... The eight-race tour concludes with a weekend doubleheader at Devil's Lake Speedway in Doyon, N.D., on Aug. 20-21.

NLRA @ Estevan: (1) Zach Johnson, (2) Brad Seng, (3) Joel Cryderman, (4) Ricky Weiss, (5) Bill Mooney, (6) Mike Balcaen, (7) Corey Seckerson, (8) Matt Aukland, (9) Troy Schill, (10) Ed Turnbull, (11) Mike Johnson, (12) Jeremy Keller, (13) Dave Smith, (14) Corey Wheeler, (15) Cole Schill, (16) Shawn Holden, (17) Kody Scholpp, (18) Jake Bitker, (19) Adam Fischer. Scratched: Harold Schill. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Johnson, Balcaen, Seckerson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728