Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Southwest Speedway

Weiss leads points after NLRA victory at Southwest

August 15, 2011, 5:31 am
By Chris Stepan
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

DICKINSON, N.D. (Aug. 14) — Canadian ace Ricky Weiss fought off challenges from John Kaanta and Brad Seng most of the 30 laps to lead all the way Sunday at Southwest Speedway. The Winnipeg, Manitoba, driver started outside the front row and earned a $1,250 payday while taking the points lead on the Northern LateModel Racing Association.

Weiss, Kaanta and Seng ran three-wide much of the way on the dry-slick surface with Weiss keeping his pursuers in check to repeat his NLRA victory last season in Dickinson.

The third-starting Kaanta, of Elk Mound, Wis., raced to his second straight finish on NLRA's western swing while Seng, of Grand Forks, N.D., settled for third. Joel Cryderman of Thunder Bay, Ontario, was fourth and Zach Johnson of Kensington, Minn., rounded out the top five. Polesitter Mike Balcaen of Winnipeg faded to finish seventh.

NLRA's weeklong swing continues Monday at Williston Basin Speedway in Williston, N.D.

Notes: Weiss drives a Victory Circle Chassis with sponsorship from Derrick's Sandblasting, Spectrum Coatings and Allied Roofing. ... Last year's overall WISSOTA champ has 13 victories in 2011. ... The 27-car field was the largest field of Late Models in the history of the 37-year-old track. ... Drivers represented five states and three Canadian provinces. ... Troy Schill, who hurt a motor the previous might at Jamestown (N.D.) Speedway, drove back to his Grand Forks, N.D., home, swapped powerplants and headed for Dickinson, arriving after heat races were complete. He started 26th and rallied to finish 14th for hard charger honors. ... Zach Johnson won the only other Late Model visit at the track this year (June 11 on WISSOTA's Dart Challenge Series). ... Dewayne Rector hurt a motor before hot laps and scratched for the night.

NLRA @ Southwest: (1) Ricky Weiss, (2) John Kaanta, (3) Brad Seng, (4) Joel Cryderman, (5) Zach Johnson, (6) Mitch Johnson, (7) Mike Balcaen, (8) Corey Seckerson, (9) Matt Aukland, (10) Jeremy Keller, (11) Bill Mooney, (12) Hank Berry, (13) Dan Henrickson, (14) Troy Schill, (15) Paul Mueller, (16) Chris Dunn, (17) Mike Johnson, (18) Cole Schill, (19) Jake Bitker, (20) Howie Schill, (21) Rock Degele, (22) Norm Olson, (23) Tommy Thompson, (24) David Smith, (25) Adam Fischer, (26) Mike Halverson. Scratched: Dewayne Rector. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Kaanta, Weiss, Balcaen.

Correction: Fixes winning purse to $1,250 sted $1,100.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728