Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Jamestown Speedway

Mooney tops first event of NLRA's Western Tour

August 14, 2011, 9:10 am
From correspondent reports
Bill Mooney heads for his first career NLRA victory Saturday at Jamestown (N.D.) Speedway. (crpphotos.com)
Bill Mooney heads for his first career NLRA victory Saturday at Jamestown (N.D.) Speedway. (crpphotos.com)

JAMESTOWN, N.D. (Aug. 12) – Bill Mooney of Selkirk, Manitoba, outdueled John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., and Ricky Weiss of Winnipeg, Manitoba, to score his first career Northern LateModel Racing Association victory Saturday night when Jamestown Speedway hosted the first round of the seven-race Western Tour for the series. | Slideshow

Mooney turned back the fellow front-row starting Weiss early in the race and held off Kaanta in slower traffic during the closing laps on his way to scoring the $1,100 triumph.

Kaanta finished second with Weiss, the defending Wissota Late Model national champion, third. Zach Johnson of Kensington, Minn., was fourth with Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., rounding out the top five finishers.

Notes: Mooney’s victory comes just two weeks after he scored his first Late Model victory of any kind at his home track of Red River Co-op Speedway in Manitoba. ... The race was slowed by two early cautions before running green to the finish. ... Mooney borrowed a carburetor from Weiss prior to the event. ... The event kicked off a stretch of racing that will include seven races in eight days. The next event is Sunday at Southwest Speedway Dickinson, N.D.

NLRA @ Jamestown: (1) Bill Mooney, (2) John Kaanta, (3) Ricky Weiss, (4) Zach Johnson, (5) Brad Seng, (6) Mitch Johnson, (7) Chad Becker, (8) Jeremy Keller, (9) Scott Greer, (10) Corey Seckerson, (11) David McDonald, (12) Brandon Carlson, (13) Brian Swenson, (14) Dave Zimmerman, (15) Cole Schill, (16) Tommy Thompson, (17) Ed Turnbull, (18) Mike Johnson, (19) Mike Balcaen, (20) Josh Johnson, (21) Troy Schill, (22) Matt Aukland, (23) Joel Cryderman, (24) Brandon Burke. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Zach Johnson, Weiss, Kaanta, Mitch Johnson, Mooney. Consolation race winners: Zimmerman, Swenson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728