Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Redwood Speedway

Utter dominates Corn Belt Clash at Redwood

August 12, 2011, 5:19 pm
From series reports

REDWOOD FALLS, Minn. (Aug. 11) – Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, started from the pole and led all 35 laps of Thursday night’s Dart Corn Belt Clash Series event at Redwood Speedway and earned $2,000 for scoring his second victory of the season on the tour.

Utter took the lead at the start of the race with second-starting Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, in pursuit. While Utter pulled away to the victory, Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis., was able to steal the second spot from Simpson late in the race on his way to a runner-up finish. Simpson finished third with Andrew McKay of Edina, Minn., fourth and Jill George of Cedar Falls, Iowa, fifth.

Series point leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, started third, but dropped out of the race on lap 17 after hard contact with the turn one wall. Simpson was uninjured, but his car was damaged significantly.

The race was slowed by two cautions. The first appeared when Rick Schroeder made contact with the backstretch wall. The second was for Chad Simpson’s lap-17 accident. Blooming Prairie, Minn., driver Dennis Hillson posted a sixth-place finish in a car powered by Wissota spec engine.

The series will be back in action Friday night at Chateau Raceway in Lansing, Minn. Brad Waits of Zumbrota, Minn., dominated the tour’s trip to the Chateau last year to pick up his first-career series victory in what was also the tour’s first visit to third-mile oval.

Clash at the Redhouse: (1) Jason Utter, (2) Tim Isenberg, (3) Chris Simpson, (4) Andrew McKay, (5) Jill George, (6) Dennis Hillson, (7) Rick Goth, (8) Dustin Virkus, (9) Clarence Washburn, (10) Chad Simpson, (11) Rick Schroeder, (12) Seth Brede. Heat winners (among 12 cars): Chris Simpson, Rick Schroeder. Dash winner: Chris Simpson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728