Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

West Liberty Raceway

Birkhofer pockets $10,000 at West Liberty

August 10, 2011, 8:22 pm
From track reports
Brian Birkhofer led all 50 laps at West Liberty. (Beau Busch)
Brian Birkhofer led all 50 laps at West Liberty. (Beau Busch)

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (Aug. 9) — Polesitter Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, led all 50 laps at West Liberty Raceway for a $10,000 payday in the unsanctioned i-Wireless Tornado Tuesday event for Super Late Models.

Birkhofer built a half-straightaway lead on runner-up Andy Eckrich at the half-mile oval, but Eckrich was able to cut into the lead amid traffic, drawing close at the checkered flags. | Slideshow

Brian Harris of Davenport, Iowa, was third in the 24-car field while home-state brothers Chris Simpson of Oxford and Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon rounded out the top five finishers.

A single caution slowed the race on the third lap for debris.

i-Wireless Tornado Tuesday: (1) Brian Birkhofer, (2) Andy Eckrich, (3) Brian Harris, (4) Chris Simpson, (5) Chad Simpson, (6) Don O'Neal, (7) Jason Feger, (8) Denny Eckrich, (9) Jason Utter, (10) Dennis Erb Jr., (11) Kurt Kile, (12) Justin Mitchell, (13) Jason McBride, (14) Chip Brindle, (15) Billy Moyer, (16) Jeremiah Hurst, (17) Matt Furman, (18) Jay Johnson, (19) Dave Eckrich, (20) Mike Fryer, (21) Nick Marolf, (22) Skip Frey, (23) Rob Moss, (24) Shannon Babb. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Denny Eckrich, Chris Simpson, Justin Mitchell. Dash winner: Birkhofer.

Correction: Fixes heat race winners.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728