Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Mount Pleasant Speedway

Thirlby grabs first ALMS victory at Mount Pleasant

August 6, 2011, 6:35 am
From correspondent and team reports
Brandon Thirlby heads for victory. (Steve Datema)
Brandon Thirlby heads for victory. (Steve Datema)

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. (Aug. 5) — Brandon Thirlby of Traverse City, Mich., topped a 14-car field Friday at Mount Pleasant Speedway for his first career victory on the Sunoco American Late Model Series. The former powerboat racer earned $2,000. | Thirlby's busy weekend | Slideshow

Thirlby, who rebounded from a heat race spin, started on the pole and raced to victory over Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich. Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., was third. Series points leader Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, hampered early in the evening with battery problems, started eighth in the main event and gained two spots to finish sixth.

J.R. Hotovy, the new track record-holder after lowering the mark in time trials, was 11th. Hotovy's 13.64-second lap lowered Rusty Schlenk's mark of 14.04 seconds set earlier this season.

ALMS @ Mount Pleasant (unofficial): (1) Brandon Thirlby, (2) Dona Marcoullier, (3) Brian Ruhlman, (4) Mark Andersen, (5) Zack Olger, (6) Jon Henry, (7) Ryan VanderVeen, (8) Sam Epling, (9) Eric Spangler, (10) Scott Baker, (11) J.R. Hotovy, (12) Josh Knoll, (13) Brad Harden, (14) Adam Thrush. Fast qualifier (among 14 cars): Hotovy, 13.64 seconds. Heat race winners: Epling, Marcoullier.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728