Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cedar County Raceway

Bueseling wins at Tipton for two in a row on series

August 3, 2011, 6:44 am
From series and track reports

TIPTON, Iowa (Aug. 2) — Just a week after racing to his first IMCA Late Model tour victory, Nate Beuseling celebrated his second. The Silvis, Ill., driver led all 40 laps of Tuesday's Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at Cedar County Raceway, taking the $2,000 win in a frenetic finish that had scorers checking and then rechecking their results.

Four lapped cars were mixed in with the frontrunners crossing the stripe. Series points leader Andy Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, was second, while hard charger Justin Reed of Quincy, Ill., was third. Defending series champion Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., and a rallying Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, completed the top five.

Beuseling had also led the distance in winning the Knoxville Deery show on July 26, but after a couple early cautions at Tipton he was never able to pull away in a feature that stayed green the last 35 circuits.

The third-starting Guss challenged early before falling off the pace; Eckrich started ninth and took over the runner-up spot on lap 30.

Kay was among the first drivers to try the extreme high side of the quarter-mile dirt oval. He got all the way up to second, ran out of room up top and jumped the cushion on the last lap, but still salvaged a career-best series finish.

Reed had also gone to the higher line. He passed Kay and Guss on the final lap and was part of the logjam of cars at the finish line.

Colby Springsteen ran sixth and also won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

The 13th of 18 events in the 25th annual tour is scheduled for Aug. 15 at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines.

Deery Brothers @ Cedar County: (1) Nate Beuseling, (2) Andy Eckrich, (3) Justin Reed, (4) Ray Guss Jr., (5) Justin Kay, (6) Colby Springsteen, (7) Marty Diercks, (8) Brian Harris, (9) Terry Neal, (10) Kevin Kile, (11) Tom Darbyshire, (12) Stephan Kammerer, (13) Todd Malmstrom, (14) Mike Garland, (15) Matt Ryan, (16) Joe Zrostlik, (17) T.J. Criss, (18) Darrel DeFrance, (19) Jay Johnson, (20) Chad Patch, (21) Charlie McKenna, (22) Mark Burgtorf, (23) Gary Webb, (24) Nick Marolf. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Malmstrom, Webb, Kammerer, Eckrich. Consolation winners: Reed, Darbyshire.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728