Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Highway 3 Raceway

Chad Simpson tops Dave Eckrich at Allison

July 28, 2011, 2:21 pm
By Ryan Clark
Winner Chad Simpson (25) works under leader Dave Eckrich (58) at Highway 3 Raceway. (K.C. Rooney)
Winner Chad Simpson (25) works under leader Dave Eckrich (58) at Highway 3 Raceway. (K.C. Rooney)

ALLISON, Iowa (July 27) — Series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, broke free from a tussle with Dave Eckrich late in the 25-lap Dart Corn Belt Clash event at Highway 3 Raceway for his third straight series victory and fifth of the season. | Slideshow

The polesitting Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa, took command at the drop of the green while fellow front-row starter Rob Moss of Iowa City, Iowa, settled into second. Simpson, who started outside the third row, worked around Tim Isenberg and younger brother Chris Simpson before dropping to the low side to challenge Moss and Justin Mitchell. He made his bid for second by the third lap, then set his sights on Eckrich, who built a sizable lead.

Simpson wasted little time running down Eckrich, pulling even just a few laps later. The frontrunners ran side-by-side for several laps with Simpson working the low groove and Eckrich one lane higher. Eckrich and Simpson swapped the top spot midway through the event, but Eckrich continued to fight off Simpson's persistent challenges.

As the leaders navigated turns one and two on lap 18, Simpson powered beneath Eckrich and was able to take over the lead exiting turn two. The reigning series champ pulled away to score the $2,000 victory.

Chris Simpson overtook Eckrich late to get the second spot while Isenberg, of Marshfield, Wis., and 10th-starting Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, rounded out the top five. Moss faded to 10th.

Dart Corn Belt Clash @ Highway 3: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Chris Simpson, (3) Dave Eckrich, (4) Tim Isenberg, (5) Jason Utter, (6) Justin Mitchell, (7) Nick Marolf, (8) Denny Eckrich, (9) Kevin Kile, (10) Rob Moss, (11) Kurt Kile, (12) Jake Meier, (13) Skip Frey, (14) Jeremiah Hurst, (15) Kevin Sather, (16) Todd Hansen, (17) Curt Schroeder, (18) Jason Rauen. Scratched: Mike Fryer, Jill George. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Chad Simpson, Rauen. Dash winner: Rauen.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728