Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Monett Motor Speedway

Wells rules Monett for second career MARS victory

July 18, 2011, 7:10 am
From various reports
Justin Wells heads for victory at Monett Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)
Justin Wells heads for victory at Monett Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)

MONETT, Mo. (July 17) — Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., earned $3,000 Sunday at Monett Speedway for his first MARS DIRTcar Series victory of the season and second of his career.

Wells took the checkers ahead of series points leader Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., who rallied from the 17th starting spot after winning a consolation race. Hall of Famer Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo., was third followed by R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., and Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who ran second early. | Slideshow

Wells previously won on the MARS circuit at Monett in 2009.

MARS competitors take a break before returning to action Aug. 4 at Midway Speedway in Lebanon, Mo., followed by an Aug. 5 event at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill.

MARS @ Monett: (1) Justin Wells, (2) Brad Looney, (3) Ken Essary, (4) R.C. Whitwell, (5) Terry Phillips, (6) Jesse Stovall, (7) Al Purkey, (8) Eric Turner, (9) David Turner, (10) John Anderson, (11) Bill Koons, (12) Jeff Roth, (13) Rylan Long, (14) Justin Asplin, (15) Brandon McCormick, (16) Jeremy Payne, (17) Dwight Niehoff, (18) Tony Jackson Jr., (19) Shane Essary, (20) Patrick Johnson, (21) Larry Jones, (22) Leroy Johnson. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Phillips, Wells, K. Essary, S. Essary. Consolation winners: Looney, Asplin.

Correction: Fixes eighth-place finisher.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728