Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eagle Valley Speedway

Hensel first two-time Dart Challenge winner

July 4, 2011, 11:35 am
By Gene Harmelink
Eagle Valley Speedway
Adam Hensel's No. 33x was up to the task at Eagle Valley Speedway. (chrisburback.com)
Adam Hensel's No. 33x was up to the task at Eagle Valley Speedway. (chrisburback.com)

JIM FALLS, Wis. (July 3) — Adam Hensel of Barron, Wis., led all 40 laps Sunday at Eagle Valley Speedway to become the season's first two-time winner on WISSOTA's Dart Challenge Series. Hensel earned $2,000.

Series points leader Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., was second followed by Canadian standout Joel Cryderman of Thunder Bay, Ontario. Steve Laursen of Cumberland, Wis., and outside front-row starter Mike Prochnow of Menomonie, Wis. rounded out the top five. Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, going for his second straight series victory, fell out with fuel pump problems while running second with three laps remaining.

The first start was called back when Hensel was slow getting off the line, but he took control on the second start and led Redetzke, Mars, Prochnow and Cryderman in the early laps.

Jake Hartung's lap-five spin reset the field, and Hensel kept his pursuers in check until the halfway point, when Jim Rychtik's car came to rest against the frontstretch wall. Rychtik was fine, but his night was over.

Hensel pulled away to a comfortable lead on the next restart, but with 10 laps remaining, traffic loomed ahead. But Hensel stayed in command while Mars dropped out, handing second to Redetzke in the final laps.

Notes: The 23-year-old Hensel's Rocket Chassis by Tim Logan is sponsored by J&C Trucking, J&J Motorsports, Rod's Painting & Sandblasting and Pro Air Conveying. ... The Dart Challenge Series returns to action July 9 with a $3,000-to-win event at Dakota State Fair Speedway in Huron, S.D.

Dart Challenge @ Eagle Valley: (1) Adam Hensel, (2) Jake Redetzke, (3) Joel Cryderman, (4) Steve Laursen, (5) Mike Prochnow, (6) John Kaanta, (7) Lance Matthees, (8) Eric Breeschoten, (9) Eric Pember, (10) Harry Hanson, (11) Mike Goodremote, (12) Marshall Fegers, (13) Jake Hartung, (14) Jimmy Mars, (15) Scott Duval, (16) Chad Mahder, (17) Jim Rychtik, (18) Kyle Peterlin, (19) Travis Budisalovich, (20) Steve Isenberg. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Hensel, Mars, Prochnow.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728