Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Legit Speedway Park

Wallace robs Floyd of West Plains victory

July 3, 2011, 2:02 am
From series and team reports
Wendell Wallace (88) gets by race-long leader Jeff Floyd (F1) with two laps remaining at West Plains. (Ron Mitchell)
Wendell Wallace (88) gets by race-long leader Jeff Floyd (F1) with two laps remaining at West Plains. (Ron Mitchell)

WEST PLAINS, Mo. (July 2) — Winning at one of his favorite tracks, Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark., stole the point from race-long leader Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark., with two laps remaining Saturday for a $3,000 victory.

The sixth-starting Wallace won the second of two weekend races at West Plains Motor Speedway co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series and the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series. | Slideshow

Floyd, who started outside the front row and got the jump on polesitter Dustin Mooneyham of Verona, Mo., settled for second while Stacy Taylor of Jacksonville, Ark., was third. R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., the winner of Friday's opener, rallied from his 15th starting spot for fourth and Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., rounded out the top five. Floyd was aiming for his first MARS victory at West Plains since the inaugural series season in 2000.

MARS points leader Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., who entered the weekend on a three-race winning streak, posted his second straight 13th-place finish.

MARS-Comp Cams @ West Plains: (1) Wendell Wallace, (2) Jeff Floyd, (3) Stacy Taylor, (4) R.C. Whitwell, (5) Bill Frye, (6) Todd Hall, (7) Dane Dacus, (8) Jeremy Payne, (9) Ian Samuels, (10) Jon Kirby, (11) Dewaine Hottinger, (12) Jon Mitchell, (13) Brad Looney, (14) Johnny Virden, (15) Raymond Merrill, (16) Terry Phillips, (17) Justin Wells, (18) Tony Jackson Jr., (19) Kyle Beard, (20) Dustin Mooneyham, (21) Jesse Stovall, (22) Brandon McCormick. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Frye, Mooneyham, Samuels, Floyd. Consolation winners: Whitwell, Payne. Provisional starters: Stovall, Beard, Virden, McCormick.

Correction: Fixes Dustin Mooneyham sted Darrell Mooneyham in story and results.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728