Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Oakshade Raceway

Schlenk edges Henry on the final lap at Oakshade

June 19, 2011, 6:26 am
From track and team reports

WAUSEON, Ohio (June 18) — In a battle of former series champions, Rusty Schlenk of Jackson, Mich., overtook race-long leader Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, after a late-race restart at Oakshade Raceway to capture a victory on the Sunoco American Late Model Series.

The sixth-starting Schlenk earned $2,000 for his second ALMS victory of the season and 12th of his career as he led the last of 30 laps at the 3/8-mile oval to edge the pole-starting Henry, the series points leader.

Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., improved three positions to finish third while outside front-row starter Dusty Moore of Swanton, Ohio, and Matt Miller of Waterville, Ohio, rounded out the top five finishers. Curtis Roberts, winner of the previous night's ALMS event at Moler Raceway Park near Cincinnati, was 16th.

Notes: Schlenk's Lazer Chassis is sponsored by Main & Company, Warpaint Graphix and Micro-Armor. ... Schlenk, the 2006 and '08 series champion, previously won the ALMS circuit on May 27 at Mount Pleasant (Mich.) Speedway. ... Henry was gunning for his first series victory of the season. ... Canadian standout Andrew Reaume of Blenheim, Ontario, improved from his 15th starting spot to finish seventh. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Rick DeLong, Brad Eitniear, Linc Stevens, Ron Millet, Troy Catterene and Josh Scott. ... Next up for ALMS competitors is a June 24 event at Hartford (Mich.) Motor Speedway.

Sunoco ALMS @ Oakshade: (1) Rusty Schlenk, (2) Jon Henry, (3) Jeep Van Wormer, (4) Dusty Moore, (5) Matt Miller, (6) Brian Fisher, (7) Andrew Reaume, (8) Dona Marcoullier, (9) Casey Noonan, (10) Donnie Marcoullier, (11) J.R. Hotovy, (12) Ryan Missler, (13) Curt Spalding, (14) Rody Schroyer, (15) Alan Vochaska, (16) Curtis Roberts, (17) Steve Kester, (18) Phil Ausra, (19) Brian Ruhlman, (20) Rob Anderzack, (21) Ryan VanderVeen, (22) Devin Shiels. Heat race winners (among 39 cars): Schlenk, Dona Marcoullier, Van Wormer, Miller. Consolation winners: Vochaska, Schroyer.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728