Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunderbird Speedway

Leslie Essary wins second straight at Thunderbird

June 11, 2011, 11:28 am
By Trenton Berry
Leslie Essary poses with his trophy and check. (Show-Me Series)
Leslie Essary poses with his trophy and check. (Show-Me Series)

MUSKOGEE, Okla. (June 10) — Leslie Essary of Crane, Mo., took command on the seventh lap Friday at Thunderbird Speedway and raced to his second consecutive victory on the Race Brothers Show-Me Racin' Series.

Essary, who is second all-time on the series with 27 career series victories, took the lead on the seventh lap at the half-mile oval and pulled away to win the 25-lapper.

“You had to get the passing done pretty early or they had to make a mistake. It was really hard to pass tonight,” said Essary, who started fifth and earned $1,000.

Essary's father Ken finished second with 10th-starting Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., in third. Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark., and Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan, rounded out the top five.

Essary's victory follows last weekend's triumph at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, Okla.

“I owe a lot of it to Justin Wells," the winner said of his hot streak. "We talked to Justin a little bit and got on his setup a little bit and did a few things of our own. It’s working so far.”

Notes: Essary's Jimmy Greenway-owned GRT Race Car has a Mike’s Motor & Machine powerplant with sponsorship from Baillie Diesel and Mike’s Motor & Machine. ... Two cautions slowed the race. Jason Redman slowed at the top of turn two on the fourth lap. ... Debris brought out a lap-nine yellow, and the final 16 laps ran caution-free. ... Next up for the series is a June 24 event at North Central Arkansas Speedway in Flippin.

Show-Me Series @ Thunderbird: (1) Leslie Essary, (2) Ken Essary, (3) Justin Wells, (4) Larry Campbell, (5) Randy Zimmerman, (6) Kyle Ledford, (7) Eric Tinderholt, (8) Rick Lebow, (9) Brandon Cheek, (10) Rex Merritt, (11) Chris Morelock, (12) Ray Peacock, (13) Dylan Davlin, (14) Willie Gammill, (15) Chris Deaton, (16) Chris Reese, (17) Jarrod Hilton, (18) Scott Fry, (19) Mel Kluhsman, (20) Houston Garrison, (21) Brandon Hunter, (22) Jason Redman. Heat race winners (among 26 cars): Hunter, K. Essary, Wells. Consolation winner: Fry.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728