Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Red Dirt Raceway

At Brill's, Looney makes it two straight on MARS

June 4, 2011, 4:38 am
By Brian Garrison
MARS DIRTcar Series
Brad Looney (14) outdueled Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (18) early in Meeker, Okla. (DirtonDirt.com)
Brad Looney (14) outdueled Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (18) early in Meeker, Okla. (DirtonDirt.com)

MEEKER, Okla. (June 3) — Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., stretched his MARS DIRTcar Series points lead on Friday at Brill's Motor Speedway with his second straight victory on the Missouri-based tour.

Looney outdueled fellow front-row starter Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., in the early laps, then held off a late challenge from six-time series champ Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., for the $3,000 victory. | Slideshow

Phillips, who took second from Hollingsworth on the 10th lap, was the runner-up while the polesitting Hollingsworth settled for third. Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., and Jeremy Payne of Springfield — who brought out the race's lone caution with a turn-two spin on the second lap — rounded out the top five in the 17-car field.

Looney also won Sunday's Tony Roper Memorial at Monett (Mo.) Speedway. His victory in Meeker increased his career MARS victory total to three.

Notes: Looney's Hatfield-powered Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Family Pharmacy, Federal Protection Inc., and Republic Glass. ... The tour stays in Oklahoma for a Saturday event at Salina Highbanks Speedway. ... It's the first series trip to Salina in 10 years.

MARS @ Brill's: (1) Brad Looney, (2) Terry Phillips, (3) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (4) Jesse Stovall, (5) Jeremy Payne, (6) Jason Hughes, (7) Tommy Weder Jr., (8) R.C. Whitwell, (9) Eric Turner, (10) Dustin Mooneyham, (11) Brandon McCormick, (12) Justin Asplin, (13) Shawn Harker, (14) Leroy Johnson, (15) Jason Redman, (16) Tony Jackson Jr., (17) Al Purkey. Heat race winners (among 17 cars): Payne, Looney, Hollingsworth.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728