Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cedar County Raceway

Chris Simpson rebounds with Cedar County victory

June 2, 2011, 1:36 am
From track reports
Chris Simpson (32) duels his brother at Cedar County Raceway. (raceimages.net)
Chris Simpson (32) duels his brother at Cedar County Raceway. (raceimages.net)

TIPTON, Iowa (June 1) — Gaining a measure of redemption three days after a heartbreaking defeat, Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, captured a Dart Corn Belt Clash victory Wednesday at Cedar County Raceway. The 27-year-old Simpson earned $2,000 in outrunning his older brother Chad and Denny Eckrich at the 3/8-mile oval. | Slideshow

Chris Simpson led all but three laps of Sunday's Alphabet Soup Classic at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb., before mechanical problems forced him out, handing the victory to Chad Simpson in a race co-sanctioned by the Corn Belt Clash, Lucas Oil MLRA and NCRA.

This time, the front-row starting Chris Simpson was in front when the checkers fell to take the victory over the polesitting Chad, last year's Corn Belt Clash champ from Mount Vernon, Iowa. Eckrich, of Oxford, was third followed by Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, and Dave Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa.

The race was the first of a series tripleheader that continues Thursday at Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa, and concludes Friday at Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis.

Notes: The winning MasterSbilt Race Car has a Pro Power Racing engine and sponsorship from GearWrench, Five Star Shop Service and Christner Concrete. ... Chris Simpson's previous victory on the 3-year-old series came on July 16, 2009, at Independence (Iowa) Motor Speedway. ... Chris Simpson finished second in points on the tour last season. ... The victory was his first of the season in nine overall appearances. ... His previous special event victory came Oct. 3, 2009, at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. ... Justin Mitchell of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, was the hard charger with his 19th-to-ninth run. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Gary Webb, Mike Klinkkammer, Bobby Hansen, Dustin Hapka, Todd Hansen and Chris Smyser.

Corn Belt Clash @ Cedar County: (1) Chris Simpson, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Denny Eckrich, (4) Jason Rauen, (5) Dave Eckrich, (6) Kurt Kile, (7) Andy Eckrich, (8) Jake Meier, (9) Justin Mitchell, (10) Jason Utter, (11) Brian Harris, (12) Terry Neal, (13) Nick Marolf, (14) Tim Isenberg, (15) Rob Moss, (16) Andrew McKay, (17) Kevin Sather, (18) Jeremiah Hurst, (19) Mike Fryer, (20) Jon Rogers, (21) Jill George, (22) Justin Jaggers, (23) Justin Kay, (24) Kevin Kile, (25) Skip Frey. Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Chris Simpson, Jake Meier, Chad Simpson, Denny Eckrich. Dash winner: Chris Simpson. Consolation winners: Justin Kay, Rob Moss.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728