Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Macon Speedway

Two in a row as Sheppard nips Voigt at Macon

May 30, 2011, 9:43 pm
From correspondent and track reports
Brandon Sheppard (B5) edges Mark Voigt (30) at the checkers. (stlracingphotos.com)
Brandon Sheppard (B5) edges Mark Voigt (30) at the checkers. (stlracingphotos.com)

MACON, Ill. (May 30) — Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., captured his second straight Northern Allstars Late Model Series event Monday, edging Mark Voigt of Marine, Ill., by a nose at Macon Speedway.

The 18-year-old Sheppard's $2,000 victory follows Friday's NALMS victory at Lincoln Speedway and gives Sheppard three victories overall in 11 days. Voigt was followed across the line by Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., while Dillan White of Crofton, Ky., and Donny Walden of Towanda, Ill., rounded out the top five.

The winner's father, Steve Sheppard Jr., pulled to the infield before the halfway point of the 30-lapper and was able to watch him complete the victory on NASCAR Night.

Notes: Sheppard's Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Fromme Enterprises, Sheppard's Car Crushing and Shepp's Bar & Grill. ... The night's racing was sponsored by Bully Dog. ... NASCAR drivers Ken Schrader, Kenny Wallace and Justin Allgaier were on hand to sign autographs. Schrader and Wallace competed in the modified division with Schrader winning the feature while Wallace was third. ... The race was also part of the Big 10 Series, a minitour among Macon, Lincoln, Shepp's and Belle-Clair that carries a point fund paying $3,000 to the champion. ... The season centerpiece Tri-State Challenge is up next for the Northern Allstars with $5,000-to-win events June 2-4 at Highland (Ill.) Speedway, Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway and I-55 Raceway in Pevely, Mo.

Northern Allstars @ Macon: (1) Brandon Sheppard, (2) Mark Voigt, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Dillan White, (5) Donny Walden, (6) Michael Kloos, (7) Mike Spatola, (8) Rick Standridge, (9) Brian Diveley, (10) Rusty Schlenk, (11) Kyle Logue, (12) Ryan Little, (13) Mike Hammerle, (14) Roger Brickler, (15) Rodney Standerfer, (16) Adam Mefford, (17) Mark Larson, (18) Greg Kimmons, (19) Steve Sheppard Jr., (20) Jeremy Nichols. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): B. Sheppard, 10.635 seconds. Heat race winners: Voigt, B. Sheppard, White, Diveley. Consolation winner: Nichols.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728