Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Brother's demise lifts Simpson to I-80 victory

May 30, 2011, 8:05 am
From series and other reports
Chad Simpson gets rolling at I-80 Speedway, where he won the Alphabet Soup Classic later Sunday evening. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Chad Simpson gets rolling at I-80 Speedway, where he won the Alphabet Soup Classic later Sunday evening. (fasttrackphotos.net)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (May 29) — One brother's heartbreak was another brother's good fortune on Sunday night at I-80 Speedway.

Polesitter Chris Simpson led virtually all the way Sunday at the tri-sanctioned Alphabet Soup Classic, but when his engine let go with three laps remaining, older brother Chad Simpson was there to inherit the lead and the $5,000 victory. | Slideshow

The elder Simpson, of Mount Vernon, Iowa, earned a victory sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association, National Championship Racing Association DIRTcar Series and Dart Corn Belt Clash Series as more than 50 race teams crowded the pits. He started inside the fourth row.

Outside front-row starter Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., finished second at the 4/10-mile oval while Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., rallied after a consolation race victory to finish third Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., and Al Humphrey of Giltner, Neb., rounded out the top five.

Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, started the night by rallying from the tail of a heat race to a victory, which put him on the pole for the main event. He proceed to lead every lap until a mechanical failure knocked him out of the Memorial Day weekend special.

Alphabet Soup Classic: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Kyle Berck, (3) Al Purkey, (4) Travis Dickes, (5) Steve Kempt, (6) Al Humphrey, (7) Joe Kosiski, (8) Gary Christian, (9) Alan Vaughn, (10) John Anderson, (11) Tim Isenberg, (12) Matt Furman, (13) Jason O'Brien, (14) Dave Eckrich, (15) Dean Moore, (16) Justin Zeitner, (17) Chris Simpson, (18) Bo Egge, (19) Bryant Goldsmith, (20) Jason Utter, (21) Billy Koons Jr., (22) Denny Eckrich, (23) Jason Rauen, (24) Mike Collins, (25) Corey Zeitner, (26) Andrew McKay, (27) David Turner, (28) Ricky Kay, (29) Kurt Kile, (30) Leon Zeitner, (31) Brady Smith. Heat race winners (among 54 cars): Denny Eckrich, Gary Christian, Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Travis Dickes, Kyle Berck. Consolation winners: Brady Smith, Al Purkey.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728