Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Viking Speedway

Doar captures NLRA opener at Viking

May 29, 2011, 1:12 am
From track reports

ALEXANDRIA, Minn. (May 28) — Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., won the first race of a Memorial Day weekend doubleheader at Viking Speedway, capturing the season opener on the Northern LateModel Racing Association. Doar, who started outside the front row, earned $2,000 for his third career NLRA victory.

Polesitter Zach Johnson of Lowry, Minn., finished second followed by Eric Breeschoten of Buffalo, Minn. Reigning track champion Jeff Wildung of Nassau, Minn., and Scott Greer of East St. Paul, Manitoba, rounded out the top five finishers.

Notes: Doar's MB2 Customs Chassis has a Pro Power Racing engine and sponsorship from U Motors Racing, S&S Transport, Amsoil and Speedwerx. ... The victory is Doar's first since a Jan. 9 triumph at Tucson, Ariz.'s Wild West Shootout at USA Raceway. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Doug Herrick, Cole Schill, Seth Brede, Josh Johnson and Scott Atkinson. ... NLRA competitors return to Viking on Sunday for the weekend finale.

NLRA @ Viking: (1) Pat Doar, (2) Zach Johnson, (3) Eric Breeschoten, (4) Jeff Wildung, (5) Scott Greer, (6) John Kaanta, (7) Shaun Peterson, (8) Mike Balcaen, (9) Steve Laursen, (10) Shawn Kirwin, (11) Lance Matthees, (12) Joey Pedersen, (13) Brad Seng, (14) Mitch Johnson, (15) Joel Cryderman, (16) Tommy Thompson, (17) Ricky Weiss, (18) Troy Schill, (19) John Buchner, (20) Michael Johnson, (21) Bill Mooney, (22) Rick Nelson, (23) Matt Aukland, (24) Harold Schill. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Greer, Doar, Breeschoten, Johnson. Consolation winners: Cryderman, Matthees.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728