Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Mount Pleasant Speedway

Schlenk outruns ALMS foes at Mount Pleasant

May 28, 2011, 11:27 am
Mount Pleasant Speedway
Rusty Schlenks heads for victory at Mount Pleasant. (raceimages.net)
Rusty Schlenks heads for victory at Mount Pleasant. (raceimages.net)

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. (May 27) — Rusty Schlenk of Jackson, Mich., led virtually all the way Friday at Mount Pleasant Speedway's third annual Woof Classic for his 11th career victory on the Sunoco American Late Model Series. The two-time series champ earned $2,000 for his first tour triumph of the season. | Slideshow

Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., finished second in the 30-lapper while outside front-row starter Jeff Kohn of Sheridan, Mich., finished third. Reigning series champion Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., and Zack Olger of St. Johns, Mich., rounded out the top five on a cool, breezy Michigan evening.

Polesitter Justin Robinson of Shepherd, Mich., a three-time track champion, faded to a seventh-place finish.

The most serious wreck came when third-running Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich., slipped over the turn-four banking and rolled his No. 6m. He walked away with no serious injuries.

Among other accidents was reigning track champion Sam Epling's spin that collected fellow home-state drivers Brandon Thirlby and Curtis Roberts.

Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, came from the 21st starting spot to finish sixth and eighth-finishing Ryan Vanderveen of Six Lakes, Mich., improved 14 positions.

The Woof Classic memorializes the father of Mount Pleasant Speedway's promoter Bill Long.

Notes: Schlenk's Lazer Chassis is sponsored by Main & Company, Warpaint Graphix and Micro-Armor. ... Schlenk's fast lap of 14.04 second lowered the 2-year-old track record of Zack Olger (14.06). ... Olger won the night's modified feature; he swept both divisions at Mount Pleasant a week earlier. ... David Hilliker was running sixth in the main event when he broke against the turn-four wall. ... The track drew 80 cars overall in four divisions, but the modified mini and stock mini features were postponed because of curfew. ... ALMS returns to Mount Pleasant Aug. 5 for its second and final visit of the season. ... The Memorial Day weekend tripleheader continues for ALMS competitors in Ohio with races Saturday at Oakshade Raceway near Wauseon and Sunday at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg.

Woof Classic (unofficial): (1) Rusty Schlenk, (2) Jeep Van Wormer, (3) Jeff Kohn, (4) Brian Ruhlman, (5) Zack Olger, (6) Jon Henry, (7) Justin Robinson, (8) Ryan Vanderveen, (9) Eric Spangler, (10) Scott Baker, (11) Adam Thrush, (12) Mark Andersen, (13) Devin Shiels, (14) Kris Patterson Jr., (15) Dona Marcoullier, (16) J.R. Hotovy, (17) David Hilliker, (18) Carl Ries, (19) Brandon Thirlby, (20) Matt Miller, (21) Curtis Roberts, (22) Sam Epling. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Schlenk, 14.04 seconds. Heat race winners: Van Wormer, Kohn, Andersen. Consolation winner: Hotovy.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728