Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Springfield Raceway

Purkey leads flag-to-flag for victory at Springfield

May 15, 2011, 7:10 am
From series reports
Al Purkey heads to victory at Springfield. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Al Purkey heads to victory at Springfield. (fasttrackphotos.net)

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (May 14) — Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., led every lap Saturday at Springfield Raceway to capture the John Kuntz Memorial, an event co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series and Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. | Slideshow

Purkey, who two weeks earlier won another co-sanctioned event in Jetmore, Kan., earned $3,000 for the victory in the event honoring the founder of Andy's Frozen Custard, a long-time racing sponsor in southwest Missouri.

Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., finished second followed by 16th-starting Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark. Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., and Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., rounded out the top five on a cool evening.

Purkey was in command from the outset with Phillips and Stovall battling for the second spot much of the race. A late-race caution bunched the field, and Stovall ended up slipping back while Moyer charged from his eighth-row starting spot.

Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., was sixth.

Notes: Purkey's Larry Shaw Race Car has a Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsorship from Taylormade Performance, Purkey's Auto Salvage, Schoenfeld Headers and Integra Racing Shocks. ... Among drivers failing to make the main event: Chris Hawkins, Shane Essary, Dewayne Kiefer, Bryon Allison and Chris Smyser. ... Next up for MARS is a May 29 event at Monett (Mo.) Speedway. ... MLRA competitors head to Thunder Hill Speedway in Mayetta, Kan., on May 21.

John Kuntz Memorial: (1) Al Purkey, (2) Terry Phillips, (3) Billy Moyer, (4) Jack Sullivan, (5) Jesse Stovall, (6) Brad Looney, (7) John Anderson, (8) Jeremy Payne, (9) Alan Vaughn, (10) Tony Jackson Jr., (11) Matt Johnson, (12) David Turner, (13) Dustin Mooneyham, (14) Brandon McCormick, (15) Kyle Berck, (16) Bryant Goldsmith, (17) Joe Walkenhorst, (18) Bill Koons, (19) Rylan Long, (20) Eric Turner, (21) R.C. Whitwell, (22) Steve Johnson. Heat race winners (among 38 cars): Looney, M. Johnson, Stovall, Sullivan, Purkey. Consolation winners: Payne, Moyer. Provisional starters: Berck, Whitwell, S. Johnson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728