Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunderbird Speedway

Moyer Jr. takes CCSDS event at Thunderbird

May 7, 2011, 6:21 am
By Ben Shelton
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

MUSKOGEE, Okla. (May 6) – Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., moved by polesitter Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., late in the 25-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series event at Thunderbird Speedway Friday night and led the remainder of the race for the sixth series victory of his career.

Moyer, the 2009 Comp Cams Series champion, earned $2,000 for the victory in what was the first visit by the series to the half-mile racetrack.

Frye, the defending series champion, led the field to green at the start of the race with Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., alongside. Boen, who won Thursday night’s Comp Cams event at Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla., moved out front and led the first 20 laps of the race.

Second-running Dane Dacus of Lakeland, Tenn., moved to challenge Boen as the two leaders crossed under the flag stand with five laps remaining. Dacus pulled even with Boen as they entered turn one, before contact between the two sent both race cars hard into the wall.

The incident handed the lead to Frye, but Moyer used the low groove to take over the point on lap 23.

Moyer led the closing laps, taking the victory over Frye with Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., finishing third. Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, finished fourth with Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., rounding out the top five finishers.

Notes: Moyer's Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Imperial Motors, Car City and Banner Valley Hauling. ... The race was slowed by three cautions and one red flag for the Boen-Dacus tangle. ... Boen and Dacus had a brief altercation after the wreck before being separated by race officials. ... Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier Ark., earned the race’s hard charger award for his 16th-to-sixth run. ... The series wraps up its tripleheader weekend Saturday night with another $2,000-to-win event at Crawford County Speedway in Van Buren, Ark.

CCSDS @ Thunderbird: (1) Billy Moyer Jr., (2) Bill Frye, (3) Kyle Beard, (4) Jon Mitchell, (5) Jon Kirby, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Justin Asplin, (8) Brandon Smith, (9) Dewaine Hottinger, (10) Raymond Merrill, (11) Gary Christian, (12) Johnny Virden, (13) Brandon Cheek, (14) Shane Harris, (15) Jeff Sloan, (16) Eric Tinderholt, (17) Austin Rettig, (18) Keith Lawson, (19) Curtis Cook, (20) Kelly Boen, (21) Dane Dacus. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Asplin, Moyer, Frye. Consolation race winner: Virden. Provisional starters: Sloan, Lawson, Cheek.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728