Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Farley Speedway

Moyer wins $10,000 in Farley's May Day Classic

April 30, 2011, 5:02 am
By Paul Misner
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Billy Moyer scored a $10,000 victory in round one of the May Day Classic. (Paul Misner)
Billy Moyer scored a $10,000 victory in round one of the May Day Classic. (Paul Misner)

FARLEY, Iowa (April 29) – Hall of Famer Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., continued his winning ways Friday night by earning a $10,000 victory at Farley Speedway in round one of the two-track May Day Classic.

The second-starting Moyer grabbed the lead over polesitter Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., on the start of the 50-lap race and led every lap to win at the half-mile oval. | Slideshow

The victory didn’t come easy for Moyer, who had to fend off a mid-race challenge from Babb as the two leaders raced through slower traffic. But Babb’s run came up short when he slowed with a flat right-rear tire near the race’s halfway point.

Moyer cruised the remaining distance for the victory with Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, scoring the runner-up finish. Kurt Kile of Nichols, Iowa, finished third with Matt Furman of Iowa City, Iowa, and Dan Schlieper of Oak Creek, Wis., round out the top five finishers.

Notes: Moyer's Victory Circle Chassis has a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from L&D Trucking, Henderson Motorsports, Banner Valley Hauling and Minx Show Palace. ... The unfortunate flat-tire relegated Babb to a ninth-place finish. ... Moyer will see if he can double his weekend winnings with another victory on the second night of the May Day Classic Saturday night at West Liberty (Iowa) Speedway. The round-two feature pays another $10,000 to the winner. ...The victory is Moyer’s seventh of the season and third paying $10,000.

May Day Classic: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Kurt Kile, (4) Matt Furman, (5) Dan Schlieper, (6) Brian Shirley, (7) Brian Birkhofer, (8) Tyler Bruening, (9) Shannon Babb, (10) Darren Miller, (11) Chris Simpson, (12) Jake Meier, (13) Brian Harris, (14) Mike Fryer, (15) Billy Moyer Jr., (16) Dave Eckrich, (17) Andy Eckrich, (18) Rickey Frankel, (19) Kevin Kile, (20) Jeremiah Hurst, (21) Andy McKay, (22) Justin Kay, (23) Denny Eckrich. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Kurt Kile, Moyer, Babb, Dave Eckrich. Consolation race winner: Birkhofer.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728