Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

34 Raceway

First-time winner Ryan wins Slocum Memorial

April 10, 2011, 11:52 am
From series reports
Matt Ryan earned $3,000 on Saturday at 34 Raceway. (John Vass)
Matt Ryan earned $3,000 on Saturday at 34 Raceway. (John Vass)

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa (April 9) — A veteran of IMCA's Deery Brothers Summer Series got his first feature win trophy, and a big check, Saturday at 34 Raceway.

Matt Ryan of Davenport, Iowa, led the last 10 laps in winning the third annual Slocum 50, a race honoring the memory of former series driver Brent Slocum. Ryan inherited the front spot after Denny Woodworth of Mendon, Ill., was forced to pit with a flat tire, then held off a late charge by Boone McLaughlin of Mediapolis, Iowa, to take the $3,000 checkers by a car length. | Video | Slideshow

Last year's race winner Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., earned the hard charger starting spot by passing the most cars in his heat and consolation race, then moved up 19 positions to finish third in the main event. Terry Neal of Ely, Iowa, was fourth and provisional starter Tom Darbyshire of Morning Sun, Iowa, advanced 18 spots to complete the top five.

Woodworth started on the pole and led early in the caution-slowed contest, giving way to the fifth starting Rob Toland before regaining the point and staying there through several restarts.

Ryan and McLaughlin, meanwhile, swapped second several times. Ryan held the position when Woodworth cut his right rear tire and left the track. McLaughlin challenged the last three circuits, making his bid coming out of the final turn but coming up just short.

The grandstand was at near capacity for the third annual event, held in memory of the late local driver. One dollar from each adult ticket sold for the stands was donated to a scholarship fund benefitting area high school seniors.

Notes: Ryan's No. 07 is sponsored by The Filling Station, TSR Racing, Keizer Aluminum Wheels and Cooper Lane Auto Sports. ...Ryan’s previous best finish in 45 career series starts was a runner-up showing on the asphalt at Hawkeye Downs in 2008. He ran third at Jackson County Speedway in 2009. ... Ryan failed to make last weekend's season-opening feature at Dubuque, Iowa. ... The previous two winners of the Slocum 50 were Quincy, Ill., drivers. ... Mike Murphy Jr. won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing. ... The series completes a doubleheader weekend on Sunday at Quincy (Ill.) Raceway, the third of 19 races on the 25th anniversary schedule.

Slocum 50: (1) Matt Ryan, (2) Boone McLaughlin, (3) Mark Burgtorf, (4) Terry Neal, (5) Tom Darbyshire, (6) Matt Strassheim, (7) Colby Springsteen, (8) Tyler Bruening, (9) Justin Reed, (10) Jason Cook, (11) Denny Woodworth, (12) Todd Malmstrom, (13) Brian Harris, (14) Andy Eckrich, (15) Rob Toland, (16) Ray Guss Jr., (17) Matt Bailey, (18) Nate Beuseling, (19) Sam Halstead, (20) Dan Shelliam, (21) Tom Goble, (22) Keith Pratt, (23) Billy Tuckwell, (24) Mike Murphy Jr. Heat race winners: Ryan, Halstead, Malmstrom, Toland, Guss. Consolation winners: Springsteen, Murphy.

Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information