Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-State Speedway

Wells cruises to Show-Me victory at Tri-State

April 3, 2011, 4:24 pm
From series reports

POCOLA, Okla. (April 2) — Three-time series champion Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., started the 2011 season the same way he ended 2010 — with a victory.

A seven-time winner last year, Wells led all 30 laps of Saturday's Race Brothers Show-Me Racin' Series opener at Tri-State Speedway, earning $1,000 for his series-leading 33rd career victory. The race was the first under series ownership by Bill and Cathy McMurtrie, who purchased it from founder Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo.

Essary finished second in the main event followed by Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark., who rallied from his 11th starting spot. Leslie Essary of Crane, Mo., the runner-up's son, was fourth and Jarrod Hilton of Crane rounded out the top five.

Notes: Wells drives a TNT Chassis with a Yeoman Race Engine and sponsorship from TNT Race Cars Midwest, Yeoman Racing Engines, Bentonville Plastics, Genesis Shocks, Top Notch Hardwood Flooring, B&P Discount Grocery and Tradewinds Express. ... Eighth-place finisher Eric Tinderholt was the Rookie of the Race. ... Other series rookie contenders are Kyle Ledford (18th), Brandon Hunter (16th) and Chris Reese (15). ... Next up for the series is a May 14 event at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, Okla., for the first-ever series visit to the 3/10-mile oval

Show-Me Series @ Tri-State: (1) Justin Wells, (2) Ken Essary, (3) Larry Campbell, (4) Leslie Essary, (5) Jarrod Hilton, (6) Randy Zimmerman, (7) Brandon Cheek, (8) Eric Tinderholt, (9) Chris Deaton, (10) Ray Peacock, (11) Chris Morelock, (12) Dylan Davlin, (13) Rick Lebow, (14) Scott Fry, (15) Chris Reese, (16) Brandon Hunter, (17) Houston Garrison, (18) Kyle Ledford, (19) Ron Johnson, (20) Robert McMurtrie. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Wells, K. Essary, Campbell.a

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728