Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunderbird Speedway

Stovall outruns Looney for Muskogee victory

April 2, 2011, 12:42 am
From series reports
Jesse Stovall heads for victory at Muskogee. (Ron Mitchell)
Jesse Stovall heads for victory at Muskogee. (Ron Mitchell)

MUSKOGEE, Okla. (April 1) — Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., outran polesitter and fellow front-row starter Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., on Friday in the MARS DIRTcar Series return to Thunderbird Speedway for a $3,000 victory in the Azalea Nationals. | Slideshow

Stovall, driving a Steve Rushin-owned car, captured the MARS season opener for his first tour victory since 2008. Looney settled for second with six-time series champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., in third ahead of teammate Jeremy Payne. R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., also driving a Rushin-owned machine, rounded out the top five finishers.

MARS was making its first appearance at the half-mile oval since 2002, when it was known as Muskogee Speedway.

Notes: Stovall's Larry Shaw Race Car is sponsored by Rushin Towing and Swafford's Amoco. ... His last MARS victory came Sept. 19, 2008, at the now-paved I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, Mo. ... Looney was gunning for his second career series victory and first since 2007. ... Eric Turner fielded Brandon McCormick's backup car, finishing 19th. ... MARS competitors return to action April 22-23 with a weekend at Batesville (Ark.) Motor Speedway and West Plains (Mo.) Speedway.

Azalea Nationals: (1) Jesse Stovall, (2) Brad Looney, (3) Terry Phillips, (4) Jeremy Payne, (5) R.C. Whitwell, (6) Tony Jackson Jr., (7) Jon Kirby, (8) Brandon Morton, (9) Justin Asplin, (10) Brandon McCormick, (11) Colton Dunlap, (12) Willie Gammill, (13) Dustin Mooneyham, (14) Rylan Long, (15) Jason Redman, (16) Darrell Mooneyham, (17) Houston Garrison, (18) Leroy Johnson, (19) Eric Turner, (20) Eric Brill. Heat race winners (among 22 cars): Asplin, Looney, Stovall.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728