Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunder Hill Speedway

Boen completes $5,000 MLRA sweep in Kansas

October 10, 2010, 7:47 am
From series reports
Front-row starters Kelly Boen (07) and Al Purkey (33) battle at the outset of the main event. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Front-row starters Kelly Boen (07) and Al Purkey (33) battle at the outset of the main event. (fasttrackphotos.net)

MAYETTA, Kan. (Oct. 9) — Completing a sweep of Thunder on the Hill action, Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., led all but the first lap Saturday at Thunder Hill Speedway for his second straight victory on the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.

Boen earned $3,000 to boost his weekend earnings to $5,000 as he captured his career-best sixth MLRA victory of the season and 18th of his career. | MLRA notebook | Slideshow

Boen rallied from his 10th starting spot to win Friday's main event, but the outside front-row sttarter made quick work of Saturday's field. Polesitter Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., led the first lap, but Boen took command and was never headed at the 3/8-mile oval.

Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, posted his second straight runner-up finish at Thunder Hill while Purkey finished third and moved into the MLRA points lead. Delbert Smith of Wichita, Kan., and title contender Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., rounded out the top five in the 35-lap feature. Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., actually crossed the line fifth, but he was disqualified for using an illegal tire.

Notes: Boen's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Roadrunner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems. ... Al Purkey holds a four-point lead on Brad Looney in the MLRA title chase. ... Alan Vaughn of Belton, Mo., battled for third early but ended up 17th. ... Evan Hubert drew a lap-10 caution and retired to the pits. ... MLRA wraps up the season Oct. 22-23 at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, Okla., for the inaugural Bud Purkey Memorial, a $6,000-to-win event.

Thunder on the Hill: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Al Purkey, (4) Delbert Smith, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Terry Phillips, (7) Jeremy Payne, (8) Dave Eckrich, (9) Jack Sullivan, (10) Joe Kosiski, (11) J.D. Hubert, (12) Eric Turner, (13) Jason O'Brien, (14) Bill Koons, (15) John Anderson, (16) Justin Asplin, (17) Alan Vaughn, (18) Gary Christian, (19) Billy Koons Jr., (20) Scott Koskovich, (21) Joe Walkenhorst, (22) Dave Conkwright, (23) Shawn Lee, (24) Evan Hubert. Disqualified: Billy Moyer Jr. Heat race winners: Purkey, Vaughn, Smith.

Correction: Updates with Moyer's disqualification.

MLRA points

(Through Oct. 9)
1. Al Purkey - 1,595
2. Brad Looney - 1,591
3. Dave Eckrich - 1,557
4. Joe Kosiski - 1,329
5. Terry Phillips - 1,169
6. Jeremy Payne - 1,130
7. Evan Hubert - 1,013
8. Kelly Boen - 957
9. John Anderson - 909
10. Justin Asplin - 905
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728