Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunder Hill Speedway

Boen rallies from 10th for Thunder Hill victory

October 9, 2010, 8:46 am
From series reports
Kelly Boen (07) goes past early leader Terry Phillips (75) at Thunder Hill. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Kelly Boen (07) goes past early leader Terry Phillips (75) at Thunder Hill. (fasttrackphotos.net)

MAYETTA, Kan. (Oct. 8) — Kelly Boen's third-to-first move on a pair of former series champions on the 13th lap carried him into a lead he'd never give up Friday at Thunder Hill Speedway. Boen cruised the rest of the 25-lap Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association event for a $2,000 victory in the Thunder on the Hill weekend opener. | MLRA notebook | Slideshow

Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, finished second with Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., in third. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., was fourth to move into a tie for the Lucas Oil MLRA points lead with fifth-finishing Brad Looney of Republic, Mo.

Phillips and Purkey battled up front early in the feature while the 10th-starting Boen quickly made his way to the front. The race's lone caution on the 10th lap for Jason O'Brien bunched the field, and Boen began tracking Phillips and Purkey on the restart.

Just past the race's midpoint, Boen dove low in turns three and four to overtake Phillips and Purkey, then cruised the rest of the way in an event that lasted until the wee hours.

Notes: Boen's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Roadrunner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems. ... Boen has 17 career MLRA victories, five in 2010. ... His previous MLRA victory was Aug. 22 at State Fair Motor Speedway in Sedalia, Mo. ... Brad Looney debuted a Victory Circle Chassis out of Billy Moyer's Batesville, Ark., shop. ... The event drew nearly 150 race cars in all. ... Saturday's scheduled includes a $3,000-to-win MLRA feature.

Thunder on the Hill: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Terry Phillips, (4) Al Purkey, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Jeremy Payne, (7) Dave Eckrich, (8) Eric Turner, (9) Alan Vaughn, (10) Jack Sullivan, (11) Bill Koons, (12) Evan Hubert, (13) Billy Moyer Jr., (14) J.D. Hubert, (15) Delbert Smith, (16) Joe Kosiski, (17) Billy Koons Jr., (18) Justin Asplin, (19) Jason O'Brien, (20) Dave Conkwright, (21) Keith Lewandowski, (22) John Anderson, (23) Shawn Lee, (24) Gary Christian, (25) Scott Koskovich. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Simpson, Phillips, Purkey.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728