Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lakeside Speedway

Turner grabs first MLRA victory in Pannell debut

October 2, 2010, 9:32 am
From series reports
Eric Turner heads for victory at Lakeside in the Pannell Motorsports entry. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Eric Turner heads for victory at Lakeside in the Pannell Motorsports entry. (fasttrackphotos.net)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. (Oct. 1) — Making his first start for Oklahoma-based Pannell Motorsports, Eric Turner of Springfield, Mo., led all 30 laps Friday at Lakeside Speedway to win the opener of the Clyde Ellis Late Model Showdown. Turner earned $3,000 for his first career victory on the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. | Slideshow

Turner, who recently left the seat of a Steve Rushin-owned car, beat Springfield's Jeremy Payne to the checkers at the half-mile oval. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., made a late race to finish third, taking a spot from David Turner of Creighton, Mo., on the final lap. MLRA points leader Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., rounded out the top five.

Iowa's Dave Eckrich, Looney's closest pursuer in the title chase, finished seventh while Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo. — now in the Poplar Bluff, Mo.-based Rushin ride vacated by Turner — was eighth after starting 16th.

Notes: The winning Pannell Motorsports Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Pannell Chipping. ... The event also drew 60 modifieds. ... Lakeside's special is held in conjunction with NASCAR events just south of the track at Kansas Speedway. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Turner's teammate Gary Christian, Delbert Smith, Joe Kosiski, Terry Phillips, Tony Jackson Jr., Jason Bodenhamer, Sonny Findling and Al Humphrey. ... Jackson was in a transfer spot in the second consolation race but weighed in light at the scales, handing the position to leading MLRA rookie Evan Hubert. ... Lakeside's weekend action concludes Saturday with a $5,000-to-win MLRA feature.

Clyde Ellis Late Model Showdown: (1) Eric Turner, (2) Jeremy Payne, (3) Al Purkey, (4) David Turner, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Keith Foss, (7) Dave Eckrich, (8) Jesse Stovall, (9) Mike Collins, (10) Kurt Kile, (11) Alan Vaughn, (12) Dale McDowell, (13) Andrew McKay, (14) Travis Dickes, (15) Matt Johnson, (16) Brandon McCormick, (17) Kevin Kile, (18) Bill Koons Jr., (19) J.D. Hubert, (20) Evan Hubert, (21) Jared Landers, (22) Brantlee Gotschall, (23) Justin Asplin, (24) Kyle Berck. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Johnson, Vaughn, Looney, Foss. Consolation winners: Gotschall, Berck. Provisional starters: Asplin, J.D. Hubert.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728