Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eldora Speedway

Van Wormer's blown engine opens door for Miller

September 6, 2010, 11:46 am
From track and correspondent reports
Matt Miller talks about his victory. (apexonephoto.com)
Matt Miller talks about his victory. (apexonephoto.com)

ROSSBURG, Ohio (Sept. 5) — Taking the lead in the final laps after Jeep Van Wormer's near-biblical blown engine, Matt Miller of Waterville, Ohio, led the rest of the way at Eldora Speedway on Sunday to capture the Baltes Classic. Miller earned $3,000 for his 18th career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory. | Slideshow

Polesitter Chris Brown of Spring, Texas, finished second in just his second Eldora appearance followed by a pair of Batesville, Ark., drivers, Wendell Wallace and 12th-starting Jared Landers. Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., rounded out the top five.

The third-starting Van Wormer was leading Miller when smoke began pluming from his No. 55 with an engine that belched an enormous cloud of dark, gray smoke.

Notes: Miller's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by M&W Body Shop, McCullough Industries and PRC. ... Austin Dillon of Welcome, N.C., a teammate to fourth-finishing Jared Landers, gained 12 spots to finish sixth. ... Series points leader Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., had a 17th-to-eighth run. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Dona Marcoullier, Derek Chandler, Chad Stapleton, Steve Kester, Phil Ausra, Jerry Rice, Curtis Deisenroth, Rick Combs, Keith Berner and Rich Neiser. ... ALMS competitors take a month off before the finale on Oct. 1 at Kankakee County Speedway in Kankakee, Ill.

Baltes Classic presented by Wix Filters: (1) Matt Miller, (2) Chris Brown, (3) Wendell Wallace, (4) Jared Landers, (5) Scott James, (6) Austin Dillon, (7) Jack Sullivan, (8) Brian Ruhlman, (9) Jerry Bowersock, (10) Curtis Roberts, (11) Rusty Schlenk, (12) J.R. Hotovy, (13) Jesse Lay, (14) Jeff Beyers, (15) Ryan Vanderveen, (16) Andrew Reaume, (17) Dillan White, (18) Chad Smith, (19) Dusty Moore, (20) Rick Delong, (21) Jeep Van Wormer, (22) Jeff Babcock, (23) Casey Noonan, (24) Duane Chamberlain. Heat race winners (among 51 cars): Beyers, Wallace, James, Van Wormer, Brown, Miller. Consolation winners: White, Roberts. Provisional starters: Schlenk, Moore.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728