Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Heartland Park Topeka

Payne tops Boen at Topeka for first MLRA victory

September 5, 2010, 1:31 pm
From series reports
Winner Jeremy Payne (74) races teammate Terry Phillips (75). (fasttrackphotos.net)
Winner Jeremy Payne (74) races teammate Terry Phillips (75). (fasttrackphotos.net)

TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 4) — Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., overtook polesitter Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., following a lap-26 restart and led the rest of the way at Heartland Park Topeka. Payne earned $3,000 for his first Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory of the season and 10th of his career. | Slideshow

Boen settled for second in the 40-lapper while John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., was third. Payne's teammate, Terry Phillips, was fourth and Alan Vaughn of Belton, Mo., rounded out the top five. MLRA points leader Dave Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, still leads the tight title chase after a ninth-place finish.

MLRA drivers return to action on Sept. 18 at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway.

MLRA @ Topeka: (1) Jeremy Payne, (2) Kelly Boen, (3) John Anderson, (4) Terry Phillips, (5) Alan Vaughn, (6) Bryant Goldsmith, (7) Delbert Smith, (8) Brad Looney, (9) Dave Eckrich, (10) Dean Moore, (11) Joe Kosiski, (12) Al Purkey, (13) Bill Koons, (14) Ron Tex, (15) Evan Hubert, (16) Randy Reynolds, (17) Keith Lewandowski, (18) Billy Koons Jr., (19) Al Humphrey, (20) Corey Zeitner, (21) Mark Ronnebaum. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Boen, Payne, Phillips.

Correction: Fixes spelling Bryant Goldsmith's last name.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728