Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Quincy Raceway

Burgtorf earns $3,000 for hometown victory on tour

September 4, 2010, 8:34 am
From series reports
Mark Burgtorf earned $3,000. (John Vass)
Mark Burgtorf earned $3,000. (John Vass)

QUINCY, Ill. (Sept. 3) — Mark Burgtorf’s mastery of his hometown track continued Friday night as the IMCA Late Model ace led all 40 laps of the Deery Brothers Summer Series main event at Quincy Raceway.

Burgtorf’s green to checkers run at the front of the rescheduled Titan Wheel and Tire special paid $3,000. The tour victory was his career ninth at Quincy and 26th overall, second on the all-time Deery list to Jeff Aikey’s 54. Point leader Ray Guss Jr. challenged briefly but settled for second. Denny Woodworth, Rob Toland and Mark Preston rounded out the top five in a race postponed by rain in June.

Burgtorf drew the outside front row start and led through five cautions that slowed the first half of the race. Guss moved up from fifth starting and made his try just after midway, but that bid fell short and Burgtorf kept the door shut the rest of the way.

Toland qualified from a consolation race flew into the top four after being involved in one of the early yellows and restarting at the rear. T.J. Criss took a provisional and also capitalized on the 15 lap green flag session that ended the feature, advancing 13 positions.

Night two of a holiday weekend doubleheader takes the tour to Lee County Speedway on Saturday. On Monday, the tour headlines the opening night IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals program at Boone (Iowa) Speedway.

Deery Brothers @ Quincy: (1) Mark Burgtorf, (2) Ray Guss Jr., (3) Denny Woodworth, (4) Rob Toland, (5) Mark Preston, (6) Joey Gower, (7) Charlie McKenna, (8) Jay Johnson, (9) T.J. Criss, (10) Jason Perry, (11) Bill Genenbacher, (12) Andy Eckrich, (13) Tyler Bruening, (14) Josh Most, (15) Jeff Aikey, (16) Kevin Blum, (17) Todd Malmstrom, (18) Keith Pratt, (19) Justin Reed, (20) Dustin Neese, (21) Matt Bailey, (22) Sam Halstead, (23) Nick Ingalls, (24) Terry Neal. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Aikey, Gower, Neal, Johnson. Consolation winners: Genenbacher, Eckrich.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728