Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Federated Raceway at I-55

Moyer completes MARS sweep at I-55

August 29, 2010, 7:59 am
From track reports
Billy Moyer (21) battles Shannon Babb (18). (stlracingphotos.com)
Billy Moyer (21) battles Shannon Babb (18). (stlracingphotos.com)

PEVELY, Mo. (Aug. 28) — Completing a sweep of the MARS DIRTcar Series weekend, Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., collected $5,000 at I-55 Raceway by outrunning Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill.

Babb settled for second followed by Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo. Illinois drivers Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville and Brian Shirley of Chatham rounded out the top five. Payne led the first half of the 40-lapper before the sixth-starting Moyer took command and opened up a straightaway lead in the caution-free, 12-minute race. All 24 starters were running at the finish. | Slideshow

Moyer, who won Friday night at Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway, earned his 13th career victory on the Missouri-based tour, which heads for Monett (Mo.) Speedway on Sept. 5. Monett's 39th annual 4-State Dirt Track Championships pay $4,000 to the MARS winner.

MARS @ I-55: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Shannon Babb, (3) Jeremy Payne, (4) Dennis Erb Jr., (5) Brian Shirley, (6) Michael Kloos, (7) Bryan Collins, (8) Jack Sullivan, (9) Jason Feger, (10) Ken Schrader, (11) Mark Voigt, (12) Ken Rumble, (13) Rickey Frankel, (14) Scott Weber, (15) Wendell Wallace, (16) Terry Phillips, (17) Jason McBride, (18) Terry English, (19) Eric Turner, (20) Dewayne Kiefer, (21) Gary Christian, (22) Jeff Johns, (23) Darrell Mooneyham, (24) Leroy Johnson. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Babb, Rumble, Payne, Collins, Kloos. Consolation winners: Phillips, Wallace.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728