Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Highway 3 Raceway

Kurt Kile goes distance for first Corn Belt victory

August 27, 2010, 7:00 am
From correspondent reports

ALLISON, Iowa (Aug. 26) — Outside front-row starter Kurt Kile of Nichols, Iowa, led all 30 laps Thursday at Highway 3 Raceway for his first victory on the Dart Corn Belt Clash tour for Dirt Late Models. Kile fought off challenges from Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, and late-charging series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, for the $2,000 victory.

Simpson finished second followed by younger brother Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, while Rauen was fourth. Jake Meier of Tipton, Iowa, rounded out the top five while Kile's younger brother Kevin started on the pole and faded to sixth.

Rauen challenged the winner from the inside groove, but Kurt Kile's high groove kept him out front midway through the race while 10th-starting Chad Simpson charged into contention in a top-three breakaway. Simpson took second from Rauen in the late stages, but fell a few lengths short at the finish.

Three cautions slowed the race in the first eight laps, none for serious incidents. The event was a makeup of a June 10 rainout.

Corn Belt Clash @ Highway 3: (1) Kurt Kile, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Chris Simpson, (4) Jason Rauen, (5) Jake Meier, (6) Kevin Kile, (7) Jeff Aikey, (8) Nick Marolf, (9) John Kaanta, (10) Jason Utter, (11) Kevin Sather, (12) Jill George, (13) Curt Schroeder, (14) Charlie McKenna, (15) Dennis Hillson, (16) Denny Eckrich, (17) Darrel DeFrance, (18) Joe Ludemann, (19) Justin Kay, (20) Paul Watters. Scratched: Kevin Pittman. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Kevin Kile, Chad Simpson, Rauen.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728