Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Sojourning Collins grabs SLMRS makeup at I-80

August 21, 2010, 9:26 am
From track reports

GREENWOOD, Neb. (Aug. 19) — Returning to his usual haunts after racing most of the season in the Southeast, Mike Collins of Council Bluffs, Iowa, captured Thursday's Super Late Model Racing Series victory at I-80 Speedway. The event was a makeup from a Monday rainout.

Collins, who relocated his racing operation near Atlanta, Ga., for the 2010 season, earned $1,000 for the victory after starting outside the front row. Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., was second followed by Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., who saw his seven-race win streak on the Nebraska-based tour come to an end. Ron Tex Jr. of Papillion, Neb., and Justin Zietner of La Vista, Neb., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Collins is sponsored by GW Performance, 5150 Race Trailers and MC3 Properties. ... Collins previous SLMRS tour victory came April 5, 2008, at I-80 Speedway. ... Thursday's event was a continuation of Monday's program, which included action with the Lucas Oil Sprint Bandits. Monday's sprint competition was marred by a serious flipping accident of 20-year-old Jack Dover of Springfield, Neb., who was taken to Omaha's Creighton University Medical Center. Dover's injuries included a collapsed lung and bruised ribs and he was scheduled to be released Saturday.

SLMRS @ I-80: (1) Mike Collins, (2) Mike Wiarda, (3) Kyle Berck, (4) Ron Tex Jr., (5) Justin Zeitner, (6) Leon Zeitner, (7) Mike Marushak, (8) Jason O'Brien, (9) Mike Wallace, (10) Mel Zeitner, (11) Joe Kosiski, (12) Corey Zeitner, (13) John Nicholson, (14) Robbie Andersen, (15) Jason Hobscheidt, (16) Kevin Hamele, (17) Craig Preble, (18) Randy Hall, (19) Kortney Kosiski, (20) J.C. Wyman, (21) Dylan Smith, (22) Steve Kempt, (23) Al Zeitner, (24) Dwane Pospisil. Heat race winners: Tex, Smith, Nicholson, Hall. Consolation winner: Hobscheidt.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728