Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Junction Motor Speedway

Boen grabs King of the Hill opener at Junction

August 14, 2010, 7:27 am
From series reports

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (Aug. 13) — Continuing a summer hot streak, Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., led all 25 laps Friday at Junction Motor Speedway to win the first half of the King of the Hill Showdown. Boen earned $2,000 in the event sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association and O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association.

John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., rallied from 10th to finish second, but couldn't catch Boen. Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., also improved eight positions in finishing third while home-state drivers Travis Dickes of Madison and Kyle Berck of Marquette rounded out the top five. Berck rallied from the tail after a caution-causing tangle with Mike Collins.

Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., pulled up lap on a lap-15 restart; his first DNF of the season cost him his MLRA points lead as six-time series champ Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., who finished 11th, takes command.

King of the Hill Showdown: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) John Anderson, (3) Mike Wiarda, (4) Travis Dickes, (5) Kyle Berck, (6) Bryant Goldsmith, (7) Mike Collins, (8) Corey Zeitner, (9) Jason O'Brien, (10) Joe Kosiski, (11) Al Purkey, (12) Dustin Hapka, (13) Dave Eckrich, (14) Delbert Smith, (15) Jase Kaser, (16) J.D. Hubert, (17) Justin Asplin, (18) Chris Spieker, (19) Jerry Warner, (20) Bo Egge, (21) Evan Hubert, (22) Terry Boushee, (23) Brad Looney, (24) Mike Wallace. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Dickes, Looney, Collins, Goldsmith. Consolation winners: E. Hubert, Wallace.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728