Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Oakshade Raceway

Ruhlman outduels Schlenk for Oakshade victory

August 9, 2010, 11:50 am
From track reports

WAUSEON, Ohio (Aug. 7) — Series points leader Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., outdueled track points leader Rusty Schlenk of Jackson, Mich., on Saturday at Oakshade Raceway to capture his second Sunoco American Late Model Series victory of the season. The 40-year-old Ruhlman earned $2,000 at the 3/8-mile oval where he also won the previoius Saturday's regular season event.

Ruhlman started outside the front row and got the jump on polesitter Ryan Missler of Bellevue, Ohio. The fifth-starting Schlenk closed in on Ruhlman before a lap-19 caution in the 30-lap feature.

On the restart, Schlenk edged briefly ahead, but Ruhlman regained the lead two laps later and held on the rest of the way over Schlenk and seventh-starting Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich. Missler's lap-28 spin set up a two-lap dash to the finish, but Ruhlman secured the victory over Schlenk and Van Wormer. Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, advanced seven positions to finish fourth while Curtis Roberts of Coleman, Mich., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Ruhlman's Malcuit-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Ruhlman Race Cars and Allstar Performance. ... Ruhlman has 20 career ALMS victories, third on the all-time list. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Kevin Reeve, Hillard Miller, Brad Eitniear, Rody Schroyer and Tim Sabo. ... Oakshade has a pair of weekly Late Model features scheduled for Aug. 14. ... Sunoco American Late Model Series competitors head to Kankakee County (Ill.) Speedway on Aug. 13 for a $9,000-to-win event co-sanctioned by the Northern Allstars Late Model Series and Monster Midwest Series.

ALMS @ Oakshade: (1) Brian Ruhlman, (2) Rusty Schlenk, (3) Jeep Van Wormer, (4) Jon Henry, (5) Curtis Roberts, (6) Rick Delong, (7) Jeff Babcock, (8) Ronnie Perrine Jr., (9) Dusty Moore, (10) Devin Shiels, (11) Rich Neiser, (12) Casey Noonan, (13) Scott Baker, (14) Doug Drown, (15) Zac Davis, (16) Ron Miller, (17) Phil Ausra, (18) Chris Keller, (19) Ryan Missler, (20) Dan Wallace, (21) Curtis Deisenroth, (22) Ryan Vanderveen. Heat race winners (among 43 cars): Roberts, Schlenk, Van Wormer, Missler. Consolation winners: Shiels, Keller.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728