Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

81 Speedway

Boen deep-sixes 81 field for third straight

August 2, 2010, 8:08 am
From series reports

PARK CITY, Kan. (Aug. 1) — Series-dominating Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., led flag-to-flag Sunday at 81 Speedway for his third straight O’Reilly National Championship Racing Association victory and ninth of the season. The four-time series champion earned $2,500 for the victory co-sanctioned by the Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series.

Boen lapped 12 cars by the halfway caution for a Gary Gorby-Jason Schierkolk tangle, the resumed his domination by pulling out to a half-straightaway lead before the 20th lap, when the second and final caution appeared as J.T. Botts and Tyler Gottschalk got together in turn four.

Boen ran the final 10 laps unchallenged to take the checkers ahead of Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., who took the second spot from Alan Vaughn of Belton, Mo., on the mid-race restart. Ryan McAninch of Wichita, Kan., dropped Vaughn to fourth and Gary Christian of Broken Bow, Okla., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Boen’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Roadrunner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems. ... Dean Moore of Grand Junction, Colo., had problems in his heat race and started on the tail of the consolation. He earned the 18th starting spot in the main event and rallied to finish seventh, giving him hard charger honors. ... NCRA competitors head to Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb., on Aug. 13-14 for the King of the Hill Late Model Shootout, an event co-sanctioned by Lucas Oil MLRA.

NCRA-CLMA @ 81: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Al Purkey, (3) Ryan McAninch, (4) Alan Vaughn, (5) Gary Christian, (6) Evan Hubert, (7) Dean Moore, (8) David Brack, (9) Scott Lewis, (10) Corey Zeitner, (11) Jase Kaser, (12) Dave Garmann, (13) Craig Baukema, (14) Kelly Dunn, (15) Mark Myers, (16) Justin Kinderknecht, (17) Gary Gorby, (18) J.T. Botts, (19) Mike Furthmyer, (20) Tyler Gottschalk, (21) Jason Schierkolk, (22) Cale Gottschalk, (23) Rick Leatherman. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Purkey, Boen, Kaser. Consolation winner: C. Gottschalk.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728