Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Fayette County Speedway

Aikey grabs $2,000 victory at Fayette County

July 28, 2010, 8:51 am
From track and correspondent reports

WEST UNION, Iowa (July 27) — Jeff Aikey of Waterloo, Iowa, captured his first career Dart Corn Belt Clash victory Tuesday at Fayette County Speedway. Aikey, who started third in the 19-car field, overtook polesitter Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, just before the 10th lap and earned $2,000 for the 35-lap victory.

Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, rallied from ninth to finish a straightaway behind in second while Utter settled for third after running side-by-side with Aikey through the race’s mid-stages. Adam Hensel of Barron, Wis., and Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa, rounded out the top five.

Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, the series points leader and a seven-race winner, scratched from the feature after having engine problems in his heat race.

Notes: Aikey’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Fleck & Son Trucking and Callie’s. ... Chris Simpson had a flat tire on the first lap of the main event and eventually retired with a 15th-place finish. ... Dave Eckrich won a heat race but mechanical problems kept him from starting the feature. ... After a day off, Corn Belt Clash competitors return to action Thursday at C.J. Raceway in Columbus Junction, Iowa.

Corn Belt Clash @ Fayette County: (1) Jeff Aikey, (2) Jason Rauen, (3) Jason Utter, (4) Adam Hensel, (5) Denny Eckrich, (6) Dean Wagner, (7) Keith Foss, (8) Kevin Kiles, (9) Becky Roth, (10) Kevin Sather, (11) Scott Rieckers, (12) Roger Torgerson, (13) Ron Klein, (14) Clint Wendel, (15) Chris Simpson, (16) Justin Kay, (17) Kurt Kile, (18) Randy Wheeler, (19) Curt Martin. Scratched: Chad Simpson, Dave Eckrich. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Hensel, Dave Eckrich, Foss.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728