Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lincoln Speedway

Feger, Shirley big winners in Lincoln doubleheader

July 26, 2010, 9:21 am
From track reports
Winner Brian Shirley (3s) battles Eric Smith (9) in the nightcap. (Rich Edwards Jr.)
Winner Brian Shirley (3s) battles Eric Smith (9) in the nightcap. (Rich Edwards Jr.)

LINCOLN, Ill. (July 25) — UMP DIRTcar Summernationals champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., added to his series winnings Sunday afternoon at Lincoln Speedway with a victory in the makeup of the event rained out July 4. Feger, crowned champion of the 29-race tour nine days earlier, rallied from his ninth starting spot at the quarter-mile oval for a $5,000 victory in the 40-lapper.

Outside front-row starter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., was second followed by eighth-starting Eric Smith of Bloomington. Jason McBride of Carbondale, Ill., was fourth and 12th-starting Michael Kloos of Trenton, Ill., rounded out the top five. Fifteen of 21 scheduled starters returned for the event halted by rain after a single lap on the Fourth of July.

After earning $2,500 for his runner-up finish in the Summernationals feature, Shirley earned another $2,000 for a Monster Midwest Series victory in the nightcap of the Sunday doubleheader. Shirley reversed the finishing order of the afternoon event by outrunning Feger and stretching his MMS points lead.

Kloos finished third followed by Tim Lance of Brimfield, Ill., and Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill. Smith, who set fast time among 27 cars entering the nightcap, finished seventh.

Summernationals @ Lincoln: (1) Jason Feger, (2) Brian Shirley, (3) Eric Smith, (4) Jason McBride, (5) Michael Kloos, (6) Kevin Weaver, (7) Steve Sheppard Jr., (8) Brian Harris, (9) Dillan White, (10) Ryan Unzicker, (11) Ryan Little, (12) Dennis Erb Jr., (13) Tanner English, (14) Brandon Sheppard, (15) Donny Walden.

Monster Midwest @ Lincoln: (1) Brian Shirley, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Michael Kloos, (4) Tim Lance, (5) Ryan Unzicker, (6) Bobby Pierce, (7) Eric Smith, (8) Dillan White, (9) Matt Furman, (10) Brandon Sheppard, (11) Tanner English, (12) Brian Harris, (13) Jason McBride, (14) John Beck, (15) Ryan Little, (16) Kevin Weaver, (17) Frank Heckenast Jr., (18) Aaron Ricketts, (19) Steve Sheppard Jr., (20) Roger Brickler. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Smith. Heat race winners: Smith, Shirley, S. Sheppard. Consolation winner: Heckenast.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728