Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eagle Raceway

Berck overtakes Egge, wins $3,000 at Eagle

July 24, 2010, 7:22 am
From track and Omaha World-Herald reports
Winner Kyle Berck (14) stalks Bo Egge (1x) late in the 40-lapper. (Joe Orth Photos)
Winner Kyle Berck (14) stalks Bo Egge (1x) late in the 40-lapper. (Joe Orth Photos)

EAGLE, Neb. (July 23) — Two-time series champion Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., rallied from his 11th starting spot at Eagle Raceway on Friday to capture his first O’Reilly National Championship Racing Association victory of the season.

Berck overtook Bo Egge of Kearney, Neb., with four laps remaining in the 40-lap feature for the $3,000 Rumble in the Bullring victory at Eagle, which hosted NCRA competitors for the first time since 2008. | Slideshow

Egge, who started outside the front row and led 35 laps in looking for his biggest career victory, settled for second at the third-mile oval near Lincoln while seventh-starting Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., finished third after holding the second spot most of the race. Springfield, Mo., drivers Terry Phillips and Eric Turner rounded out the top five. Polesitter Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., led the first lap before being involved in an early accident.

Notes: Berck’s Lazer Chassis is sponsored by Dorothy Lynn Home Style Dressing and Strobel Construction. ... The victory was Berck’s fifth overall of 2010. ... Berck finished sixth in the night’s modified feature. ... Eleven of 25 starters completed all 40 laps of the NCRA Late Model event. ... Berck’s previous NCRA victory came Sept. 6, 2009, at the Belleville (Kan.) High Banks. ... NCRA drivers head to Thunder Hill Speedway in Mayette, Kan., on Saturday for a $2,500-to-win event.

Rumble in the Bullring: (1) Kyle Berck, (2) Bo Egge, (3) Al Purkey, (4) Terry Phillips, (5) Eric Turner, (6) Mike Wiarda, (7) John Anderson, (8) Evan Hubert, (9) Jeremy Payne, (10) Dylan Smith, (11) J.D. Hubert, (12) Corey Zeitner, (13) Jase Kaser, (14) Shawn Harker, (15) Alonzo Grosse, (16) Mike Wallace, (17) Jerry Warner, (18) Travis Dickes, (19) Jason O’Brien, (20) Delbert Smith, (21) Wylan Petrie, (22) Todd Bell, (23) Craig Preble, (24) Tracy Harr. Disqualified: Kelly Boen. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Egge, O’Brien, Boen. Consolation winner: Wallace.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728