Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Adams County Speedway

Chad Simpson denies Phillips at Adams County

July 4, 2010, 1:14 am
From series reports
Chad Simpson (25) repels Terry Phillips (75). (Ron Mitchell)
Chad Simpson (25) repels Terry Phillips (75). (Ron Mitchell)

CORNING, Iowa (July 3) — Outside front-row starter Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led all 30 laps at Adams County Speedway for a tri-sanctioned victory worth $3,000. Simpson notched his first victories on all three sanctioning bodies: O’Reilly NCRA, Lucas Oil MLRA and the MARS DIRTcar Series. | Slideshow

Simpson denied polesitter Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who was gunning for his 100th career MLRA victory on what would have been the 68th birthday of his late father, five-time NASCAR weekly champion Larry Phillips.

Phillips was second while Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., was third. Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, was fourth and Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo.

Simpson led Phillips by a nose on the first lap as the top two cars broke away for a straightaway lead over Dickes by the fourth lap.

After Alan Vaughn slowed in turn four to draw a lap-seven caution, the race’s only yellow, Simpson powered to a 10-length lead while Kyle Berck dropped out on the 12th lap as the race stayed green.

At the halfway point, Phillips started to cut into Simpson’s lead with Dickes, Utter and Boen in the top five. Simpson led the frontrunners through lapped traffic the rest of the way, holding on for the victory.

Notes: Simpson’s MasterSbilt Race Car has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from Liebe Trucking, GATR Volvo GMC and Farm Bureau Financial Services. ... Al Purkey piloted the car normally driven by Al Humphries after splitting with car owner Bill Koons. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: John Hampel, Matt Johnson, Jerry Warner, J. D. Hubert, Leroy Johnson, Mike Wiarda, and Wylan Petrie.

Adams County Speedway: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Terry Phillips, (3) Travis Dickes, (4) Jason Utter, (5) Kelly Boen, (6) Dave Eckrich, (7) Corey Zeitner, (8) Matt Furman, (9) Brad Looney, (10) Evan Hubert, (11) Al Purkey, (12) Chris Simpson, (13) Joe Kosiski, (14) Denny Eckrich, (15) Chris Spieker, (16) Jeremy Payne, (17) Jason O’Brien, (18) Gary Christian, (19) Eric Turner, (20) Justin Asplin, (21) Bryant Goldsmith, (22) Shawn Harker, (23) Kyle Berck, (24) Alan Vaughn. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Chad Simpson, Dickes, Furman, Boen, Phillips. Consolation winners: Payne, Berck. Provisional starters: Turner, Christian, Harker, O’Brien, Kosiski, Spieker.

MLRA points

(Through July 3)
1. Brad Looney - 683
2. Al Purkey - 675
3. Dave Eckrich - 673
4. Terry Phillips - 669

5. Jeremy Payne - 571

MARS points

(Through July 3)
1. Terry Phillips - 1,186
2. Eric Turner - 1,108
3. Jeremy Payne - 917
4. Al Purkey - 818

5. Gary Christian - 808

NCRA points

(Through July 4)
�1. Kelly Boen - 2,580
2. Corey Zeitner - 2,405
3. Jase Kaser - 2,240
4. Wylan Petrie - 2,040
5. Shawn Harker - 1,940
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728