Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Springfield Raceway

Phillips leads all 40 laps of John Kuntz Memorial

June 27, 2010, 3:43 pm
From track and series reports
Terry Phillips emerges from his car. (Ron Mitchell)
Terry Phillips emerges from his car. (Ron Mitchell)

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (June 26) — Winning a race honoring his late sponsor, hometown driver Terry Phillips led every lap Saturday at Springfield Raceway for his second straight victory co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil LateModel Racing Association and MARS DIRTcar Series. The polesitting Phillips, who leads each series with 98 MLRA victories and 71 MARS victories, earned $3,000.

"John was not only a great sponsor, but also a very good friend of ours,” Phillips said after the victory at the quarter-mile oval. “This little joint is a racy place and they always prepare a great track for us.”

Jeremy Payne, two-time winner of the Kuntz Memorial, ended up second behind his teammate while Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., was third in the Oklahoma-based Pannell Motorsports No. 33x. Ninth-starting Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., was fourth and Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., drove a new Larry Shaw Race Car to a fifth-place finish.

Evan Hubert of Cross Timbers, Mo., started outside the front row and held the second spot early, but a flat tire brought out the race’s only caution and knocked him out of contention in the 40-lapper.

Notes: Phillips drives a Don Babb Motorsports GRT Race Car with a Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsorship from Andy's Frozen Custard, New Vision Graphics and Port City Racing. ... Phillips won the previous night at State Fair Speedway in Sedalia, Mo. ... MARS and MLRA competitors return to Springfield on Sept. 18.

John Kuntz Memorial: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) Jeremy Payne, (3) Kelly Boen, (4) Justin Wells, (5) Al Purkey, (6) Ken Essary, (7) Eric Turner, (8) David Turner, (9) Dave Eckrich, (10) Alan Vaughn, (11) Gary Christian, (12) Brad Looney, (13) Evan Hubert, (14) J.D. Hubert, (15) Brandon McCormick, (16) Dustin Mooneyham, (17) Randy Zimmerman, (18) Andrew Kosiski, (19) Bill Koons, (20) Zac Simmons, (21) Darrell Mooneyham. Heat race winners (among 34 cars): Long, E. Hubert, Phillips, Dave Eckrich, Purkey. Consolation race winners: Looney, Dustin Mooneyham. Provisional starters: Simmons, A. Kosiski, D. Turner, Koons.

Corrections: Fixes car count and consolation race winners.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728