Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Randolph County Raceway

Anderson grabs opener of MLRA tripleheader

June 25, 2010, 12:54 am
From series reports
John Anderson takes the checkers. (fasttrackphotos.net)
John Anderson takes the checkers. (fasttrackphotos.net)

MOBERLY, Mo. (June 24) — Polesitter John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., survived a last-ditch challenge from Dave Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa, at 24 Raceway to complete a flag-to-flag victory at 24 Raceway on the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. Anderson’s second MLRA victory of the year paid $3,000 at the 3/8-mile northcentral Missouri oval. | Slideshow

Anderson checked out from the beginning of the 30-lapper, building a lead on Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., in the early laps before Chris Spieker slowed on lap 15 to draw the first of two cautions.

Anderson resumed his domination on the restart and was firmly in control when Purkey slowed on the frontstretch running second with just two laps remaining, setting up a green-white-checkered finish at Moberly.

Eckrich was up to second for the restart and made an aggressive move on the bottom side of the track. But Anderson screamed to the checkered flag to complete his 21st career MLRA victory.

Eckrich settled for second while Denny Woodworth of Mendon, Ill., was third. Home-state drivers Terry Phillips of Springfield and Brad Looney of Republic, the series points leader, rounded out the top five finishers. Purkey was 14th in the 20-car field.

Notes: Anderson’s MasterSbilt Race car is powered by a Roush-Yates engine with sponsorship from Shop Quik Convenience Stores, Turbo Car Wash, Sunoco Racing Fuel, MarCorp Electric, REM Plastic Racing Products, and F.A.I.T.H. (Friends are in the House Youth Team). ... Anderson has 21 career MLRA feature victories. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: John Farmer, Chris Smyser, Larry Clawson and Zac Simmons. ... Smyser broke leading the consolation race on the fifth lap. ... Eric Turner discovered problems after his heat race and scratched for the night. ... MLRA competitors continue the weekend with a Friday event at State Fair Speedway in Sedalia, Mo., and a Saturday event at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway; both events are co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series.

MLRA @ 24 Raceway: (1) John Anderson, (2) Dave Eckrich, (3) Denny Woodworth, (4) Terry Phillips, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Evan Hubert, (7) J.D. Hubert, (8) Joe Kosiski, (9) Jeremy Payne, (10) Rickey Frankel, (11) Justin Asplin, (12) Bill Koons, (13) Chris Spieker, (14) Al Purkey, (15) Andrew Kosiski, (16) Ashley Lancaster, (17) Richard Weber, (18) Alan Vaughn, (19) Sonny Findling, (20) Denny Eckrich. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Anderson, Purkey, J. Kosiski, Looney. Consolation winner: Denny Eckrich.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728