Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Moler Raceway Park

Roberts snaps ALMS drought with Moler victory

June 19, 2010, 1:05 pm
From track reports
Roberts celebrates in victory lane. (rasmithphoto.com)
Roberts celebrates in victory lane. (rasmithphoto.com)

WILLIAMSBURG, Ohio (June 18) — Outside front-row starter Curtis Roberts outran polesitter home-track driver John Whitney at Moler Raceway Park on Friday for his first Sunoco American Late Model Series victory since 2001. Roberts, of Coleman, Mich., earned $2,000 for his fourth career series victory. | Slideshow

The runner-up Whitney, of Middletown, Ohio, was chased to the checkers by track champion Barry Doss of Sardinia, Ohio, who started inside the eighth row. Former ALMS champion Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., and 11th-starting Dusty Moore of Swanton, Ohio rounded out the top five.

Notes: Roberts is sponsored by K&M Recycling, SMR Inc. and Roberts Auto Enterprises. ... Roberts, who stepped away from racing for several years until beginning to run part time again in '07, last won on the ALMS tour on Sept. 1, 2001, at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio. ... The series heads to Oakshade on Saturday for a $2,000-to-win event.

Sunoco ALMS @ Moler: (1) Curtis Roberts, (2) John Whitney, (3) Barry Doss, (4) Brian Ruhlman, (5) Dusty Moore, (6) Jerry Bowersock, (7) Rick Delong, (8) Jason Jameson, (9) Mike Meyers, (10) Chad Stapleton, (11) Ryan Vanderveen, (12) Allen Warner, (13) Tim Carpenter, (14) Tara Wallace, (15) Jerry Rice, (16) Audie McWilliams, (17) Larry Pickelheimer Jr., (18) Rick Combs, (19) Curtis Deisenroth, (20) Wayne Chinn, (21) Rusty Schlenk, (22) Scott James. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Roberts. Heat race winners: Schlenk, Bowersock, Whitney. Consolation winner: Deisenroth.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728