Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Federated Raceway at I-55

Moyer collects Tri-State Challenge victory at I-55

June 6, 2010, 12:32 pm
From track reports
Billy Moyer (21) moves past leader Dennis Erb Jr. (stlracingphotos.com)
Billy Moyer (21) moves past leader Dennis Erb Jr. (stlracingphotos.com)

PEVELY, Mo. (June 5) — Hall of Famer Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., took the lead from polesitter Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., on the 11th lap and led the rest of the way in the 40-lap Tri-State Challenge feature at I-55 Raceway. The Northern Allstars Late Model Series victory paid the fourth-starting Moyer $5,000. | Slideshow

Fifth-starting Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., the previous night’s Tri-State Challenge winner in Paducah, Ky., took a shot at Moyer on a two-lap shootout to the finish but settled for second. Billy Moyer Jr. rallied from 10th to finish third while Erb and Billy Faust of Lebanon, Ill. rounded out the top five.

Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., started outside the front row and ended up sixth, while third-row starter Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., was running fourth in the closing laps when he rolled to a stop with engine problems on lap 38.

The only other caution appeared on the 15th lap when Ron McQuerry got turned around in turn three after contact with the leading Moyer.

Notes: Moyer’s Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by L&D Trucking, Henderson Motorsports and New Vision Graphics. ... All but five starters were running at the finish. ... The Tri-State Challenge initially was made up of four events, but Wednesday’s race at Highland (Ill.) Speedway and Thursday’s event at Shepp’s Speedway in Alexander, Ill., were rained out. ... Jeremy Nichols scratched following hot laps. ... Among drivers failing to make the main event: Denny Woodworth, Todd Hall, Craig Smith, Dewayne Kiefer, Jeff Johns and former Southern All Star champion Mark Miner. ... The Northern Allstars take a lengthy break before returning to action July 30 at Kankakee County (Ill.) Speedway.

Tri-State Challenge: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Will Vaught, (3) Billy Moyer Jr., (4) Dennis Erb Jr., (5) Billy Faust, (6) Bub McCool, (7) Brian Shirley, (8) Michael Kloos, (9) Tim Manville, (10) Ryan Unzicker, (11) Rickey Frankel, (12) Mark Voigt, (13) Jason Frankel, (14) Jason Feger, (15) Frank Heckenast Jr., (16) Kevin Weaver, (17) Jason McBride, (18) Brian Diveley, (19) Ron McQuerry, (20) Shannon Babb, (21) Bryan Collins, (22) Brandon Sheppard, (23) Dillan White, (24) Steve Lance Jr. Fast qualifier (among 44 cars): Moyer, 12.822 seconds. Heat race winners: J. Frankel, Moyer, Erb, McCool. Consolation winners: Unzicker, Manville. Provisional starters: Weaver, Collins, Heckenast, Diveley.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728