Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Viking Speedway

Wildung, Johnson split opening weekend at Viking

May 31, 2010, 1:29 pm
By Ray Beste
Viking Speedway
Jeff Wildung gets rolling Saturday at Viking Speedway. (Todd Torfin)
Jeff Wildung gets rolling Saturday at Viking Speedway. (Todd Torfin)

ALEXANDRIA, Minn. (May 29-30) — Minnesota drivers Jeff Wildung of Nassua and Zach Johnson of Kensington splits victories in the opening weekend doubleheader of the Northern LateModel Racing Association at Viking Speedway. The winners earned $1,000 apiece in Memorial Day weekend action on Saturday and Sunday.

In Saturday's opener, Wildung took command early while Jeremy Keller of Mandan, N.D., advanced from eighth to third and eventually wrestled the second spot from Eric Breeschoten of Buffalo, Minn. Further back, 16th-starting Marshall Fegers of Mound, Minn., worked his way to the front, cracking the top five before the final caution with five laps remaining. On the restart, Fegers zipped into the second spot, but didn't have time to catch Wildung. Fegers was second followed by Keller, Breeschoten and Justin Fegers, the older brother of the runner-up.

In Sunday's race, Wildung and Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., formed a stout front row, but Johnson quickly moved into the mix from his sixth starting spot. Johnson battled with the front-row starters before finally grabbing the lead and the victory. Wildung settled for second followed by Doar and Canadian invaders Ricky Weiss and Mike Balcaen.

NLRA @ Viking (May 29): (1) Jeff Wildung, (2) Marshall Fegers, (3) Jeremy Keller, (4) Eric Breeschoten, (5) Justin Fegers, (6) Matt Aukland, (7) Zach Johnson, (8) Ricky Weiss, (9) Seth Brede, (10) Mike Balcaen, (11) Pat Doar, (12) Paul Mueller, (13) Michael Johnson, (14) Doug Herrick, (15) Chad Becker, (16) Shawn Holden, (17) Brad Seng, (18) Shawn Kirwin, (19) Mike Bruns, (20) Scott Johnson, (21) Lance Matthees, (22) Matt Weisman, (23) Joel Cryderman, (24) Cody Skytland (25) Jason Thoennes. Heat race winners (among 37 cars): Aukland, Breeschoten, Wildung, Brede, Thoennes. Consolation winners: M. Fegers, Matthees.

NLRA @ Viking (May 30): (1) Zach Johnson, (2) Jeff Wildung, (3) Pat Doar, (4) Ricky Weiss, (5) Mike Balcaen, (6) Doug Herrick, (7) Lance Mathees, (8) Eric Breeschoten, (9) Michael Johnson, (10) Scott Greer, (11) Shaun Peterson, (12) Mike Bruns, (13) Brock Gronwold, (14) Shawn Holden, (15) Seth Brede, (16) Cody Skytland, (17) Marshall Fegers, (18) Brad Seng, (19) Joe Johnson, (20) Justin Fegers, (21) Jason Thoennes, (22) Rick Nelson, (23) Jeremy Keller, (24) Joel Cryderman, (25) Mark Halverson. Heat race winners (among 33 cars): Doar, Wildung, Balcaen, Keller. Consolation winner: Breeschoten.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728