Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Boen spells victory at I-80's Alphabet Classic

May 31, 2010, 1:17 pm
By David Smith Jr.
O'Reilly NCRA
Kelly Boen heads for victory. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Kelly Boen heads for victory. (fasttrackphotos.net)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (May 30) — Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., led virtually the entire 40-lapper at I-80 Speedway on Sunday for a $5,000 victory in the Alphabet Soup Classic. Boen's victory was co-sanctioned by the O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association and Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. | Slideshow

Dave Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, took second from Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., in the final laps while Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., was fourth. John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., who started on the front row with Boen, ended up fifth.

Boen edged ahead of Anderson early in the race and faced challenges from Berck as several caution periods dotted the first half of the race. But with the final 20 laps going caution-free, Boen pulled away to wrap up his first victory in the Memorial Day weekend special.

Notes: Boen's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Roadrunner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems. ... Boen leads NCRA points. ... Brad Looney's fourth-place finish pushed him into the MLRA points lead. ... MLRA competitors take a break until a three-race weekend June 24-26 with Missouri races at 24 Raceway in Moberly, State Fair Speedway in Sedalia and Springfield Raceway. ... NCRA drivers returned to action June 4-5 at the $10,000-to-win Sunflower State Showdown at the Great American Speedway in Jetmore, Kan.

Alphabet Soup Classic: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Dave Eckrich, (3) Kyle Berck, (4) Brad Looney, (5) John Anderson, (6) Keith Foss, (7) Jason O’Brien, (8) Al Purkey, (9) Eddie Kirchoff, (10) Joe Kosiski, (11) Bryant Goldsmith, (12) Kevin Kile, (13) Jase Kaser, (14) Evan Hubert, (15) Bill Koons, (16) Chris Spieker, (17) Corey Zeitner, (18) Shawn Harker, (19) Bo Egge, (20) Chad Simpson, (21) Leon Zeitner, (22) Zac Simmons, (23) Denny Eckrich, (24) Jason Hobschiedt, (25) Chris Simpson, (26) Mike Wiarda, (27) Jerry Warner, (28) Al Humphrey, (29) Delbert Smith. Heat race winners (among 48 cars): Chris Simpson, Harker, Chad Simpson, Boen, Anderson. Consolation winners: Smith, Humphrey.

O'Reilly NCRA points

�(Through May 30)
1. Kelly Boen - 1,285
2. Jason O'Brien - 1,180
3T. Dean Moore - 1,170
3T. Corey Zeitner - 1,170
5. Jase Kaser - 1,095
6. Jerry Warner - 1,090
7. Shawn Harker - 1,070
8. Waylan Petrie - 1,000
9. Al Purkey - 980
10. Bill Koons - 880
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728