Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Kickapoo Speedway

Shirley wins from pole position at Danville

May 23, 2010, 11:52 pm
From track and series reports

DANVILLE, Ill. (May 23) — Polesitter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., raced to victory Sunday at Vermilion County Speedway for his first triumph on the Monster Midwest Series. Shirley, who made his third start in a new Pierce Race Car designed by new VCS promoter Bob Pierce, earned $2,000.

Fourth-starting Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., was second while 10th-starting Brian Harris of Davenport, Iowa, rallied to finish third, taking that position from Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., on the 21st lap. Fast qualifier Eric Smith of Bloomington, Ill., rounded out the top five finishers.

"I knew Jeep was going to be tough to beat," Shirley said. "I was glad we coulud run top and bottom when we had to."

Notes: Shirley's Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Jayco Construction and Skateland South. ... Third-place finisher Brian Harris was gunning for his third victory of the weekend after winning Friday at his hometown Davenport Speedway and Saturday at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Eric Vaughn, Kenny Carmichael, Chris Dick and Kyle Hammer. ... Next up for Monster Midwest Series competitors is two Memorial Day weekend events on May 28-29 at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway and Highland (Ill.) Speedway. Both pay $2,000 to the winner.

Monster @ Vermilion County: (1) Brian Shirley, (2) Jeep Van Wormer, (3) Brian Harris, (4) Ryan Unzicker, (5) Eric Smith, (6) Rusty Schlenk, (7) Bobby Pierce, (8) Kent Robinson, (9) Nick Lyons, (10) Brandon Thirlby, (11) Kevin Weaver, (12) Dick Potts, (13) Tim Lance, (14) Cory Rolfe, (15) Curtis Roberts, (16) Richie Hedrick, (17) Brian Rickey, (18) Bill Gianetti, (19) Randy Shuman, (20) Jason Riggs. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): E. Smith, 13.397 seconds. Heat race winners: E. Smith, Van Wormer, Robinson. Consolation winner: Pierce.

Correction: Fixes Shirley's chassis to Pierce sted Rocket; fixes third start in car sted debut.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728