Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Mississippi Thunder Speedway

Simpson stays perfect with Corn Belt Clash win

May 15, 2010, 6:47 am
From track reports
Chad Simpson heads for victory Friday. (jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)
Chad Simpson heads for victory Friday. (jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. (May 14) — Making his first visit to Mississippi Thunder Speedway a triumphant one, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, won from the fourth starting position for his second victory in as many Dart Corn Belt Clash starts in 2010. Simpson earned $2,000 for his series-leading third career victory. | Slideshow

Reigning series champion Keith Foss of Winona, Minn., who started sixth, was the runner-up while the winner's younger brother Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, rallied from 12th to finish third.

Eleventh-starting Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, was fourth and eighth-starting Jake Redetkze of Eau Claire, Wis., was the top finishing home-state driver in fifth. Polesitter Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, was sixth at the 3/8-mile tri-oval. Fellow front-row starter Adam Hensel of Barron, Wis., was 19th.

Notes: Chad Simpson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Volvo-GMC, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Five Star Shop Service. ... Simpson's car owners Bud and Denise Brinkman once lived in nearby Winona, Minn. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Kerry Hansen, Jim Bruggeman and Chris Oertel. ... Thursday's series event at Cresco (Iowa) Speedway was rained out and rescheduled for June 3. ... Next up for the Corn Belt Clash is a May 25 event at Cedar County Raceway in Tipton, Iowa.

Corn Belt Clash @ Mississippi Thunder: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Keith Foss, (3) Chris Simpson, (4) Jason Rauen, (5) Jake Redetzke, (6) Justin Kay, (7) Dave Eckrich, (8) Jake Meier, (9) Marshall Fegers, (10) Justin Mitchell, (11) Kevin Kile, (12) Jason Utter, (13) Eric Pember, (14) Brad Waits, (15) Lance Matthees, (16) Kurt Kile, (17) Darin Burco, (18) Todd Frank, (19) Adam Hensel, (20) Doug Herrick, (21) Nick Herrick, (22) Justin Fegers, (23) John Kaanta, (24) Justin Sass. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Hensel, Kay, Redetzke, Matthees. Consolation winners: Kaanta, Sass.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728