Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dodge City Raceway Park

Kirchoff captures opener at Dodge City

May 8, 2010, 11:25 am
From series reports

DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 7) — Eddie Kirchoff of Gillette, Wyo., make his long tow pay off with a victory on the opening night of the Six Shooter Showdown at Dodge City Raceway Park. Kirchoff earned $1,200 for the event co-sanctioned by the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series and Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series.

Delbert Smith of Wichita, Kan., drew the pole and set the early pace early with former CLMA champs Dave Garmann and Kirchoff dicing for position with other frontrunners. Kirchoff methodically worked his way to second and set his sights on Smith, patiently waiting out cautions for J.T. Botts and Brad Fortney and later for Brad Wagoner.

At the halfway mark, the leaders encountered heavy lapped traffic. Smith got bottled up, allowing Kirchoff and Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., to close in. Kirchoff made his winning move on the 16th lap, taking advantage of the traffic. Looney, running strong despite racing without power steering, also got past Smith.

A late race caution set up a dash for the finish, but Kirchoff was too much for Looney. Smith was third with Garmann and Scott Lewis rounding out the top five.

Six Shooter Showdown: (1) Eddie Kirchoff, (2) Brad Looney, (3) Delbert Smith, (4) Dave Garmann, (5) Scott Lewis, (6) Mike Wiarda, (7) Justin Schierkolk, (8) David Brack, (9) Grant Junghans, (10) Earl Kinderknecht, (11) Don Cloyd, (12) Darin Busch, (13) Rick Leatherman, (14) Gary Gorby, (15) Cale Gottschalk, (16) Brad Fortney, (17) Tyler Gottschalk, (18) Steve Lewis, (19) Brad Wagoner, (20. J.T. Botts. Heat race winners: Looney, Wiarda, Busch. Dash winner: Kirchoff.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728